Hardware Canucks

Hardware Canucks (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/)
-   Water Cooling (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/water-cooling/)
-   -   TEC and waterblock..... (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/water-cooling/4685-tec-waterblock.html)

Cptn Vortex February 20, 2008 04:26 PM

TEC and waterblock.....

Hey all, chilled CPU cooling....Quick question:

I have a Ultra Chilltec lying around now, doing nothing. I have no experience with using a TEC with a watercooling loop. Should I try it? Do I risk any condensation?

Essentially I have a loop with 2 RADs, one after the CPU/Chipset and one after the GPU. One 120.2 and one MCR220. What do you guys think?

Mr. Friendly February 20, 2008 06:10 PM

you forgot to tell em your basic idea currently is to slap a gob of TIM on there and secure the wb with longer mounting rods...give them a better idea of what you're thinking of. I'm curious to hear what the more experienced have to say about this! :D

NoL February 20, 2008 06:41 PM

Okay, pelts movement ability needs to exceed heat output of proc greatly first off. No small TEC's will work, will be counter productive. You must have a cold plate, and a pressure clamp as well, tec's want about 400 PSI to maximize efficiency. Then that goes on CPU, properly setup and tuned in (not just run at max volts like many do) you can easily have subzero efficiency.

Cptn Vortex February 20, 2008 07:11 PM

Looks like an interesting venture, but I may give it a try....I do have a spare Apogee GT lying around...

MpG February 20, 2008 09:44 PM

The GT isn't bowed, is it? I'm pretty sure that you don't want a bowed base on a TEC. And you'd need some sort of cold plate underneath, too, for it to work properly.

biff February 20, 2008 10:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by NoL (Post 42006)
properly setup and tuned in (not just run at max volts like many do) you can easily have subzero efficiency.

Can you elaborate on this?

Cptn Vortex February 21, 2008 04:47 AM