Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2008, 11:01 PM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

What about mounting the rad ontop of the CM690. Just mount the on the outside at the top?
__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2008, 11:09 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,727
Default

Well that would look kinda silly. Just hand a double or tripple RAD off the back with a RADbox. It will look much better, cool better, and allow more room on the inside!
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2008, 11:12 PM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

That is true. as long as you don't block the holes for the tubing.
__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2008, 04:38 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

in regards to why there are so many people here harping on the full coverage blocks. here's why i got mine.

1. It looks way cooler than a gpu block, secondly i would rather cool the ram as well so i can get the best performance.

In regards to hanging the rad on the back. This is what i did. 1 word of advice a 1" Bi metal hole saw and a slow rpm / hi-torque drill are your friend. Also you should consider a fill port it is your friend.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2008, 07:15 AM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Man this sucks.

I spent a couple of hours last night trying to find a Fuzion and it looks like I'll have to pay for shipping from the US plus whatever the duties turn out to be.

NCIX won't even let me place the order and the D-Tek website has no stock.
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2008, 08:10 AM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Another question:

Do I really need a reservoir? If I put a fillport at the top of the case with a t-junction before the pump will that work as effectively as a reservoir?

What are the pros/cons of that setup? What about a drain? Does having that many T/Y junctions inhibit the flow?

I could also have a fillport which goes to the reservoir from the top of the case I guess.

Drain like this


Fillport with T:
__________________
[SIZE=3]

Last edited by zlojack; February 5, 2008 at 08:58 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2008, 09:55 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

That's what i did :) how ever i neglected to insert a drain plug :(.

Basically the main advantage with using a t line is that you save space. But there are some quirks.

1. It takes longer to fill
2. Without a drain plug it takes a long time to drain.

If i were to do it over again i would use a res. And since i am getting a popcorn hour box. I will be selling my current WC rig and doing it again for my new computer (old HTPC)
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2008, 09:59 AM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

So the best of both worlds would be something like the the first shot in my previous post?

A fillport that goes into a reservoir that goes into the pump? Then a Y-Junction that goes down to a drain?

Also, how does that affect the flow?
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2008, 10:28 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

I'd rather use the Swiftech Micro-res, which is installed inline, and allows for quick filling, and fast bleeding. Then you can also add the drain line, with a Y fitting.

The first pic looks great, but that's a lot of tubing...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2008, 02:15 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

I was looking at the Micro-res. It would fit my case better, because where I was thinking about putting the drive bay res would conflict with my VGA card.

I'm still a bit confused about the res situation. Could I install the Micro-res with a fillport at the top of the case? Then run a tube from there to the pump. After the pump, a y-junction with a split for a drain and a line to the rad.... then the rest of the loop.

I think I need to get a photo of my case and do some photochopping....

EDIT: I just had a thought... I bet I could fit that radiator in the front part of my Ninehundred under the hard drives and use the front fans to pull the air out...

I might have to sacrifice an optical drive...hmmm... food for thought.

I guess I should start by ordering the rad and components and see if they'll fit. Time to take some measurements.
__________________
[SIZE=3]

Last edited by zlojack; February 5, 2008 at 02:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water Cooling How To?? e_1337 Water Cooling 5 March 16, 2008 01:00 PM
Water cooling question Infiniti Water Cooling 11 December 26, 2007 11:11 AM
Water cooling kit Vinnie Water Cooling 5 November 12, 2007 09:22 PM
Another DIY Water Cooling Rig Magnesious Water Cooling 5 April 14, 2007 11:51 AM
AC Water Chiller project sizerkozak CPU's and Motherboards 27 March 13, 2007 06:26 AM