Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2011, 07:48 PM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,590

My System Specs

Default

You need to bleed the loop properly. It's obviously trapped air bubbles
__________________
Iapetos
Intel Core i7 930 D0 4.2ghz, Corsair XMS3 6X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24, Xfire HD5870, Intel X-25M 34nm 80gb, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050W, Xonar D2X

Zephyranthes
E8400 4.0ghz, XFX 780i, Mushkin XP2 PC-6400, Antec Earthwatts 750W

Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2011, 07:50 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 56
Default

this is going to sound stupid but by bleed you mean to drain the loop entirely and refill?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2011, 07:52 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 239
Default

the water level in the reservoir is too low, the pump suck air at the same time
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2011, 10:34 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 69
Default

throttle your pump speed - your reservoir is way too small for the amount of flow you've got in that loop. You're going to have very very high flow rates in that tiny loop with one of those pumps on full blast.

Don't drain it, it's fine... run the pump on a slower speed for a while. After you run it for a while, loosen the cap on the top of the little reservoir to release some air pressure. That'll help.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old June 14, 2011, 04:04 AM
Dan Dan is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 87

My System Specs

Default

The exact same thing happened to me when I built my loop, I tried everything, even tilting the computer in every angle possible with the pump going and nothing but after about 3 days it went away.
I guess there's an air pocket in the rad and it slowly bleeds itself.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old June 14, 2011, 11:42 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 56
Default

how do I run the pump at a slower speed? it has a molex connector and then a two pin connector(but only one pin wired).

I think I'm just going to purchase a new res(tube style) and a new CPU block, not happy with the danger den one I have.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old June 14, 2011, 08:39 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,945
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Modus View Post
how do I run the pump at a slower speed? it has a molex connector and then a two pin connector(but only one pin wired).

I think I'm just going to purchase a new res(tube style) and a new CPU block, not happy with the danger den one I have.
any reason why case upside down

looks to me that you have the case upside down in that picture(the video card position tells it)

the rad on top or bottom of case ? best for bleeding system is have the MotherBoard flat down with cards facing up (ceiling side) and since the pump is loose turn it 90 an hold above case opening with towels below to catch any leaks/spills, fill rez to full then cycle pump on/off to get the air out

and fill rez when level drops after pump is off
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old June 14, 2011, 08:53 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 56
Default

haha no the case isn't upside down. it's a Lian-Li PC-A05NB, its just the way it's designed.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old June 14, 2011, 09:09 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 69
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post
any reason why case upside down

looks to me that you have the case upside down in that picture(the video card position tells it)

the rad on top or bottom of case ? best for bleeding system is have the MotherBoard flat down with cards facing up (ceiling side) and since the pump is loose turn it 90 an hold above case opening with towels below to catch any leaks/spills, fill rez to full then cycle pump on/off to get the air out

and fill rez when level drops after pump is off
lol KaptCrunch, aren't you the guy running around with advice for everyone yet you've never seen a reverse ATX setup before? :P too funny!

Modus - to run the pump at a lower speed you'll have to hook it up to a good fan controller with a decent amount of wattage per channel to handle the power drain (you'll need a molex to 3pin fan connection plug). Either that, or you could try your hand at running the pump at 5 volts, by swapping out the pins in the molex plug accordingly; might not be your best bet though depending on the pump.

Which one do you have? A DDC 3.2, 3.25? I see the blue impeller...
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old June 14, 2011, 09:39 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 56
Default

it's a DDC 3.21. Where can I order WC parts in Canada? NCIX/Dazmode doesn't have much of a selection...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Single Loop or Dual Loop? Pump enough for single? MattC Water Cooling 5 May 31, 2011 07:19 PM
Need help with noise etc.. shadow of chaos Water Cooling 6 August 24, 2010 08:21 AM
Another loop order, single/dual loop thread... turtletrax Water Cooling 8 July 28, 2010 08:40 PM
120v outlet filter for noise, such a thing? (popping noise from speakers) On2wheels Troubleshooting 3 June 20, 2010 08:06 PM
Reservoir noise matsta31 Water Cooling 17 January 26, 2009 06:28 PM