Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2011, 10:45 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 106
Default Really needed to use teflon or some tape on barbs thread ?

Hello,

Would like to know if its really needed to use teflon or some tape on barbs threads ?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2011, 10:49 AM
G777's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Coquitlam,BC
Posts: 539

My System Specs

Default

Shouldn't be, and you might end up with little pieces of tape gunking up your loop
__________________
_______________________________________________

HWC Overclocking Team, breaking hardware for fun!

Team Thread
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2011, 10:56 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rush View Post
Hello,

Would like to know if its really needed to use teflon or some tape on barbs threads ?

Thanks!
Negative.

Do not use Teflon for barbs.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2011, 11:16 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 106
Default

Alright thanks. Because i already made all the loop up lol

So this apply even with the RASA 750 kit ? I believe there no o-ring on those barbs.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2011, 11:31 AM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

All the barbs I have used have a tight enough fit with the tubing. You could laways leak test.

Keep the computer off and use another source of power or short you Psu. I did have a water leak occur on a powered off Mobo... I just made shure it was dry and had no problem afterwards.
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2011, 12:07 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,600

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rush View Post
Hello,

Would like to know if its really needed to use teflon or some tape on barbs threads ?

Thanks!
If there is an o-ring, no. The only barbs that I know of that NEED teflon tape are the Thermochill rad barbs with the G3/8 threads. They have no o-rings.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2011, 02:40 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 106
Default

i checked and they have o-ring thanks for the infos. I started my leak test so hopefully it will pass.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2011, 07:18 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 164
Default

NPT threads don't seal, which is why there are o-rings. If you toss teflon tape on there all it will do is serve to create more thread space from sealing your o-ring properly, and pretty much just cause a leak down the line.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermal Tape bvsbutthd101 Air Cooling 16 March 10, 2011 12:51 PM
[WTB] 3/8 Barbs. rai_polo Buy/Sell & Trade 0 October 28, 2009 07:29 AM
[WTB] Thermal Tape punk_zappa Buy/Sell & Trade 0 June 28, 2009 02:15 AM
Barbs on rad up vs down cdn_Madrach Water Cooling 5 February 7, 2009 07:51 AM
Plumbers thread Tape Corpus Masochist Water Cooling 6 August 23, 2007 01:14 PM