Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2011, 02:01 PM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default I may add a rad or a second loop

My i5-750 and the chipset of the board are on a single loop with a GTX 480 , all that on a triple TFC rad, when I game my GPU temp rise to 48 and summer are coming, do you thing adding a single rad to the loop will help or Iím better to build 2 loop, I donít like see the chipset too hot.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2011, 02:15 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,928

My System Specs

Default

What are your other temperatures like?

I don't think you'll see much gain from adding another rad to the loop. You'd probably see some drop by making the GPU on it's own loop, but I don't think it's really necessary.

GPUs are designed to withstand 100C temperatures (with reference cooling), so I wouldn't worry about 48C.

And the motherboard chipset is designed to run passively, so again, heat isn't a huge concern there either.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2011, 02:23 PM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
What are your other temperatures like?.
hard to see when you gaming, but....it's a ROG board I will plug my laptop on the rog usb port to check....
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2011, 03:03 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 32

My System Specs

Default

-I use a G15 for core temps and a G13 for After Burner for the gpu's to monitor gaming temps\speeds\fps\vram\gpu load balance[sli] . AB does have on screen ,but never used it.
-but to your question - single loop - more rad the better just keep track of the air temps going into the rads if you can[fan controller w\temp monitoring].
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2011, 04:24 PM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default

What is the best way to record ( make a log) the board and CPU temp , so I can check the log after gaming.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2011, 07:20 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,928

My System Specs

Default

I think ASUS provides some software? PC Probe or something? I'm pretty sure that supports the ability to log to file. GPU-Z and CoreTemp can also log to file.

For a paid solution, AIDA64 will do it all.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2011, 07:36 PM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default

I just test it with core temp, the GPU rise at 51 and the CPU at 52, ( note that I obstruct the radiator until it reach 51 because I can't make it go over 45 tonight )

tomorrow I will install the ROG software on my lappy to know what happen with the chipset. ( what a stupid idea to put a EK block on a 1156 chipset.....)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another loop order, single/dual loop thread... turtletrax Water Cooling 8 July 28, 2010 08:40 PM
Need help with my dual rad in a single loop jusdrink Water Cooling 33 June 20, 2009 03:43 AM
downgrading my loop, will i have enough rad. kyle_L Water Cooling 24 June 19, 2009 11:09 AM
2X120mm rad dual gpu+cpu loop nckid4u Water Cooling 19 May 12, 2009 05:05 AM
Best way to add water to a loop ebdoradz Water Cooling 9 January 18, 2009 10:48 PM