Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2008, 04:44 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Alberta
Posts: 63
Default Fan loop

I'm just wondering, I have all my fans hooked up, the case fans are all molex connectors.. I was wondering if I could plug them all into eachother if I had a aux connector....? That way could I have more then 1 fan plugged into an aux plug or not...
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2008, 04:49 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

What do you mean by aux connector, exactly?
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2008, 04:54 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Alberta
Posts: 63
Default

It says aux or sys fan 1 on the motherboard.. I have 1 plugged into it, but I'm just wondering if I could plug a couple into eachother and just route it as 1 line.. Or will there not be enough power?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2008, 05:00 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 18
Default

my mobo has a 22 watt limit on fans driven from the mobo connector, and that includes the cpu fan. yours likely has a limit listed in the manual somewhere too.
__________________
Nothing's out there. All there is is sea, and birds, and fish. And 20,000 tonnes of crude oil. And a fire. And the part of the ship that the front fell off. But there's nothing else out there - it's a complete void. The environment's perfectly safe.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2008, 05:01 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,880

My System Specs

Default

I run all my fans off 1 molex connector from the PSU. I wouldn't run a bunch of fans on a single fan header on the motherboard though.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2008, 05:33 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

A mobo fan header will probably have enough headroom for two or three LOW speed fans (1200 rpm or less).

I'm just not sure why you'd want to. You'll loose rpm monitoring, for starters. And unless you've got some sort of stackable fan plug, you're looking at wire splicing. If you're willing to go to the trouble of wire splicing, you may as well do it with a regular Molex connector, which won't even break a sweat at over 50 watts.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2008, 06:30 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 18
Default

yeah, indeed. unless your mobo can control the 12V line to slow the fans down, you might as well just run them from the power supply itself. and if it DOES control the 12V line for speed adjustments, there's ways of using it that are cheap but require a wee bit of manual labour.
__________________
Nothing's out there. All there is is sea, and birds, and fish. And 20,000 tonnes of crude oil. And a fire. And the part of the ship that the front fell off. But there's nothing else out there - it's a complete void. The environment's perfectly safe.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ram Water Cooling loop Shredder Water Cooling 5 January 24, 2008 08:55 PM
Best loop configuration? Cptn Vortex Water Cooling 21 December 8, 2007 11:53 AM
My Soon-To-Be loop Kopi Water Cooling 5 October 23, 2007 12:49 PM