Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2011, 03:27 AM
nasrott's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Newmarket, Ont.
Posts: 453

My System Specs

Default Apoge GTX and SB

Just bought a new sandybridge setup yesterday and semi tryed to install the 1156 hold down for it on my 1155 board nothing seemed to fit, am I missing something? Do i need a new holddown bracket?

Thx Nas

Last edited by nasrott; March 23, 2011 at 03:27 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2011, 10:18 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,068

My System Specs

Default

You use the LGA1156 bracket.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2011, 01:53 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Calgary
Posts: 150

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nasrott View Post
Just bought a new sandybridge setup yesterday and semi tryed to install the 1156 hold down for it on my 1155 board nothing seemed to fit, am I missing something? Do i need a new holddown bracket?

Thx Nas
Just trying to clarify things a bit

Did you buy the Sandy Bridge CPU and a 1156 board (and nothing fits right); or did you buy the CPU and are trying to fit it onto a 1155 board...big difference; because Sandy Bridge CPU's only fit on 1156 boards, they're not compatible with the older 1155 boards.
__________________
" If I had a dollar for every time I heard "My God! He's covered in some sort of goo, " I'd be a rich man. "

Homer J. Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2011, 08:59 AM
nasrott's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Newmarket, Ont.
Posts: 453

My System Specs

Default

well the 1156 holddown on my swiftech kit will not fit the 1155 board, bman, sandy bridge is lga 1155 the 1156 is the older board, have no problems with the cpu and board is my water cooling kit holddowns that is the problem dont have a setup for lga 1155
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2011, 11:03 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,068

My System Specs

Default

Sounds like you are using the wrong backplate. I use an XT on my Asus P8P67 Pro w/ no issues.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2011, 03:06 PM
nasrott's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Newmarket, Ont.
Posts: 453

My System Specs

Default

ya was using the wrong holddown and backplate seems the 1155/56 holddown kit was an option I didn't have with my kit. Will order the proper one this week.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2011, 03:57 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Calgary
Posts: 150

My System Specs

Default

Apologies nasrott...
damn Intel and their #'s, must have been way too early for me, just got the #'s turned around
__________________
" If I had a dollar for every time I heard "My God! He's covered in some sort of goo, " I'd be a rich man. "

Homer J. Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2011, 03:26 AM
nasrott's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Newmarket, Ont.
Posts: 453

My System Specs

Default

Np Bman, well bought a new block, parts for the gtx were not in stock, so grabed a new XT Apoge which came with the 1155 back plate and the holddown is universal now for all intel sockets.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2011, 08:36 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,657
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMAN69 View Post
Just trying to clarify things a bit

Did you buy the Sandy Bridge CPU and a 1156 board (and nothing fits right); or did you buy the CPU and are trying to fit it onto a 1155 board...big difference; because Sandy Bridge CPU's only fit on 1156 boards, they're not compatible with the older 1155 boards.
Uhm.. what?!

Sandybridge only fits on 1155 boards and 1156 mounting brackets work on 1155 boards.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2011, 03:08 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Calgary
Posts: 150

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Uhm.. what?!

Sandybridge only fits on 1155 boards and 1156 mounting brackets work on 1155 boards.
Please see post made by myself March 20, 2011
__________________
" If I had a dollar for every time I heard "My God! He's covered in some sort of goo, " I'd be a rich man. "

Homer J. Simpson
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes