Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2011, 05:43 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default barb on radiator leak

what do should i do?

one bitspower 1/2 barb on mcr320 with 1/2 promochill lrt pro without hose clamps... i am not sure where leak is coming from... barb or tube...

other barbs/tubes are fine... just this...

so what should i do check?

thanks again
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2011, 05:50 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,083

My System Specs

Default

Zip tie or hose clamp

if the clamp doesn't fix it bad O ring ?
buy some back up O rings to be safe.
hose clamps or zip ties are your frend also .
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2011, 06:04 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

ok i have some extra o-ring... i will switch it... but i dont think its o-ring...

maybe tube because tube has to be twisted to koolance ar697 with straight barb... should i use 90 degree fittings to reduce leak?




that picture is not helping... i guess...


btw... no clamp goal >_>;
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2011, 06:14 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Calgary
Posts: 150

My System Specs

Default

Actually; they say a picture speaks a 1000 words, judging by the water droplets (2nd pic), it wouldn't hurt to look a little higher up from that barb/ hose connection....unless it's one hell of a leak.

just my thoughts
__________________
" If I had a dollar for every time I heard "My God! He's covered in some sort of goo, " I'd be a rich man. "

Homer J. Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2011, 06:18 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,083

My System Specs

Default

boil the kettel. heat the end of the hose. slip it on. let cool overnight.

Black Zip ties 4.00 $ Home Hardware. :>
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2011, 06:45 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

bman69... actually i take out tube to let water to leak into phrimochill plastic box thingy... before there is just slowly dripping from bottom... i assume from tube...

do you mean take a leaking tube?


why do i need to boil the tube then let it overnight? i can push it into the barb without warm it

i have some thin black zip and hose clamp here... >_>;
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2011, 07:02 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,079

My System Specs

Default

You can't use 1/2" tube on 1/2" barbs without a zip tie or clamp. It's not tight enough to seal properly, which you've found out the hard way. If you want to run without clamps or ties, you use 7/16" or 3/8" tubing, and use hot water to make it flexible enough to get onto your 1/2" fitting.

Put zip ties on all your hoses for now. If one connection leaked, another one will if you don't.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2011, 07:09 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

ok... i will use black zip then...

just one question...

there is no primochill 7/16" primochill pro lrt is considered to be best for soft and bending...

i dont want this NCIX.com - Buy Swiftech 7/16IN ID Vinyl Tubing 10 Feet - Swiftech - 5/8OD10FT - in Canada

1. cloud color
2. not bending as good as primochill lrt pro...


i know that working on the 3/8 primochill lrt pro is the painful in the ass...

thanks again...
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2011, 07:14 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,079

My System Specs

Default

Just use black zips on your black tubing. It will be almost unnoticeable.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2011, 01:44 AM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

i still notice it >_>;

anyway... i just found out that o-ring is possible toasted... but i did turn barb more tight with big wrench... i guess you were guys right...

a long short story; i tighted all barbs with my spare tube (mistake size one)... after discovered the leak... i bleed them again and add 1/16" width tie zip then refill it... and discovered the leak lightly from same barb... again...

i went to my storage and found some adjusting wrench.. and i picked cleanest one... and tighted the barb again...

lets wait and see... if its leaking again... fml... i want to assemble all hardware then use it for one month or so... as my project (customize case) is complete then bleed and dis-assemble it for paint...
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gamergrub Contest Leak ziikutv Rumor Mill 1 December 4, 2009 07:32 PM
i got a LEAK! kyle_L Water Cooling 9 May 1, 2009 05:10 AM
Question about Danger Den radiator barb fittings AERo Water Cooling 16 March 31, 2009 11:23 AM
Barb Question Supergrover Water Cooling 4 October 21, 2008 05:37 AM
Leak in T-line Phobia Water Cooling 17 June 9, 2008 04:37 PM