Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2011, 04:20 PM
Dazmode's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,700
Default

I'd wait and test before adding second rad too.
__________________
Venom Build: Caselabs SMH10, 3930k, 2x GTX680, MSI BigBangII, 8x Dominators, 2 x D5 , Quad Rad, Adaptec 7805, 4x WD Red, 2x Intel 510, Aquaero 5, 11x GT
Silent Sniper Build: Final Video, XSPC H1 Cube case, Supreme HF, 2xGTX470, GA G1 Sniper, Dominators, 2x Triple rad, Triebwerk Fans, 2x D5, Custom Sleeving
Orange Build: Final Video
HTPC Build: Final Video
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2011, 08:29 PM
matari's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 126
Default

I am not advocating anymore than a tripple 120 mm radiator; Adding more (than a tripple) radiator probably wont improve temps by much. I figure about 150 watts per 120 mm fan with rpms greater >= 1800 rmp with decent static pressure. That GPU will consume a lot of the 300 watts of my guestimate. Certainly possible to do it with a duel, but do not expect great temps. Go ahead and give it a wirl with the duel, if you don't get the temps you like add a single. Again, anything more than that probably won't help temps to much.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2011, 12:44 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 142
Default

Got bunch of fittings from ncix today. they are all bitspower TRUESILVER fittings so I'll be skipping out on buying silver coil.



here's bit of mess on my desk putting these fittings in.



Initial setup before I unplug shut off my rig(Only have 1 computer so After this post I'll be off until leak testing is done.



fans I'm using.

Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2011, 03:46 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 142
Default

hmm yeah.. I think definitely 1 240mm rad is not enough for gtx 570 and overclock CPU.

prime95 temp was around 45 and slowly went up to 50deg, roughly what I was getting with NH-D14 in a different case(lot of air flow)

keeps gpu temp nice and low under load. I think I'll be picking up another 240 rad sometime during the week

Last edited by Mekaw; February 13, 2011 at 03:58 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2011, 09:40 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: chilliwack , bc
Posts: 330

My System Specs

Default

Your biggest issue right now looks to be getting air through the rad you have now. That mesh between the rad and fans is killing any airflow you might have.
__________________
heatware
ebay
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2011, 12:25 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 142
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brewer265@ View Post
Your biggest issue right now looks to be getting air through the rad you have now. That mesh between the rad and fans is killing any airflow you might have.
yeah... Gotta hate those grills, I flipped the fans around(going against the physics) so it's on as intake, does better job than having it as exhaust, gets more air through. but eeek temp was super high on CPU, at 65 deg playing bfbc2! went over safe temp there.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2011, 12:55 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: chilliwack , bc
Posts: 330

My System Specs

Default

If i were you i would cut most of the mesh out and get some fans with much better static pressure.
__________________
heatware
ebay
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2011, 01:05 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 142
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brewer265@ View Post
If i were you i would cut most of the mesh out and get some fans with much better static pressure.
like ultra kaze? lol, was almost tempted to throw those on there, I've got 2 from my h50 setup i had a while ago lulz
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2011, 01:16 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: chilliwack , bc
Posts: 330

My System Specs

Default

Any high static fan will help but the mesh between the fans and rad is probably blocking 1/4 the air flow.
__________________
heatware
ebay
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2011, 10:25 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 142
Default

finished loop.



Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pump orientation question ADay2Long Water Cooling 10 December 13, 2010 12:31 PM
Pump orientation Fudd Rucker Water Cooling 10 August 6, 2010 01:37 PM
Another loop order, single/dual loop thread... turtletrax Water Cooling 8 July 28, 2010 09:40 PM
loop and or pump question gomer Water Cooling 5 June 8, 2010 07:48 PM
enough pump for full loop. kyle_L Water Cooling 5 February 27, 2009 10:04 AM