Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2011, 12:45 AM
matari's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 126
Default Not sure what to upgrade...

I am not sure what to upgrade. I just drained my loop and cleaned my gear. For X-mas, I got my EK X58 Asus Motherboard and Mosfet blocks and EK Corsair Ram block shortly after. My stupid EK X2 Multioption reservoir leaked, so I used Teflon tape. I was thinking of buying new Koolance bay reservoir for two DDC pumps and purchase a second pump. My other option would be to use my old XSPC single bay reservoir and buy another radiator. Not sure what I want to do. Does anyone have some suggestions? I have my CPU, Mobo, and Ram all on one loop. I only have a 3x120mm radiator on that loop. I have my Core i7 overclocked to 4 ghz with vCore at 1.35. According to eXtreme PSU calculator, im approximately 320 watts with some head room. According to Skinnee's chart, I would need at least another single radiator to keep my delta 5 on my loop using an HW SR1 with 1450 rpm Gentle Typhoons. So it is either buy a nice fancey reservoir, and sacrifice my delta 5, or keep that nightmare to bleed XSPC bay reservoir and buy another radiator. sigh lol.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2011, 01:30 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

hows your flow so far, if you can check it? :)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2011, 05:29 AM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default

I'm not a fan of bay resevoirs, in the past they were known for leaking around the edges - as they weren't sealed properly.. over time they developed a leak. I can't say much for the newer generation bay resevoirs.. I just find them a pain in the ass to fill. For that reason, i'd stay away - but your setup may lend itself for easier management.

One pump (no matter the pump) should be enough for that loop, even if you had constrictive blocks / lots of 90 degree bends. Unless of course the pump was faulty or old and worn.

A triple rad is more than sufficient for a 920 D0 @ 4Ghz overclock.. and 1.35v is a good average voltage for that CPU. Depending on your motherboard and RAM settings, going to 1.4v and bumping to 4.1 or 4.2Ghz wouldn't be stretching it too far.

There are a lot of pump / pump top / resevoir combos available - check Dazmodes site, i've seen some nice combos i'd shell out for if I went back to watercooling. If you were unhappy with your pump / res.. that's what i'd be looking to replace - and get a pump top for better performance and noise handling (etc)
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2011, 10:56 AM
matari's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 126
Default

My flow rate is decent; adding a second pump is only for redundentcy Martin has show that flowe rates above 1 GPM make little difference on temps. The tripple radiator is enough for my cpu, just when I add the rest I will lose the delta 5. I am sure that the koolance wont leak as much as the ek x2 multioption.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2011, 06:18 PM
Dazmode's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,700
Default

You can get spare part and fix EK res... Dual pumps is worth it in my opinion for redundancy.
__________________
Venom Build: Caselabs SMH10, 3930k, 2x GTX680, MSI BigBangII, 8x Dominators, 2 x D5 , Quad Rad, Adaptec 7805, 4x WD Red, 2x Intel 510, Aquaero 5, 11x GT
Silent Sniper Build: Final Video, XSPC H1 Cube case, Supreme HF, 2xGTX470, GA G1 Sniper, Dominators, 2x Triple rad, Triebwerk Fans, 2x D5, Custom Sleeving
Orange Build: Final Video
HTPC Build: Final Video
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2011, 07:52 PM
matari's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 126
Default

I am sure I can get it fixed; the O-ring is just to small and does not make proper contact with the acrylic. So I have a choice, I either get a new O-ring, or I see how tight I can screw on the cap (not a good idea). Even with he Teflon tape, I worried every day about that reservoir leaking. So I just want something else that will help ease my mind.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VGA upgrade from GTX 260 first, or CPU+mobo upgrade first? panzerfan Video Cards 9 April 6, 2010 09:25 PM
In Need of an Upgrade PC_Commando New Builds 2 December 15, 2009 10:02 PM
upgrade to i7 yet? RONEDOGG New Builds 17 April 23, 2009 12:12 AM
Upgrade?? howpet Video Cards 2 April 22, 2009 08:33 PM
My Upgrade! rjbarker New Builds 1 November 8, 2008 07:35 PM