Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2011, 09:35 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 223

My System Specs

Default

I never found any trouble with switching the brackets. When I popped it off to insert my AMD bracket, the O-ring stayed where it was on the top cover. Guess it was fortunate for me

Hopefully that Vaseline trick works for you.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2011, 05:29 PM
Dazmode's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,691
Default

Oh, yes! Those o-ring are hard to put in.

I used a trick of putting them in groove, fix it with transparent glass (make sure it is in), cool in freezer (so it harden), then assemble...
__________________
Venom Build: Caselabs SMH10, 3930k, 2x GTX680, MSI BigBangII, 8x Dominators, 2 x D5 , Quad Rad, Adaptec 7805, 4x WD Red, 2x Intel 510, Aquaero 5, 11x GT
Silent Sniper Build: Final Video, XSPC H1 Cube case, Supreme HF, 2xGTX470, GA G1 Sniper, Dominators, 2x Triple rad, Triebwerk Fans, 2x D5, Custom Sleeving
Orange Build: Final Video
HTPC Build: Final Video
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2011, 06:04 PM
Prolab's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 485

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matari View Post
I am sure that EK uses some sort of lubricant to hold the O-ring in place. That would be that nasty crap I had to clean off when I first got my block. I have never used the AMD insert, but with the intel black mount holds the O-ring in place. I just hold it there for a few mins, place my the face of block back on hold tight and screw in. Never had any issues. You can probably use a lubricant like vaseline, but make sure not to get any on the microfin area. One last thing, make sure you test your block for leaks outside of your case first. One time I forgot to put the O-ring in. Lol.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dazmode View Post
Oh, yes! Those o-ring are hard to put in.

I used a trick of putting them in groove, fix it with transparent glass (make sure it is in), cool in freezer (so it harden), then assemble...
Damn, that would be pretty handy. Hopefully i dont need to that next time around .


Quote:
Originally Posted by Hacksaw907 View Post
I never found any trouble with switching the brackets. When I popped it off to insert my AMD bracket, the O-ring stayed where it was on the top cover. Guess it was fortunate for me

Hopefully that Vaseline trick works for you.

Well, ive finally used a good amount of vaseline along the groove of the bracket/top part of the block. It stayed put!!

Now im just leak testing, but there's some trickling along the compression fitting and the corner part of the block. I just tighten it a bit more and 23 more hours to go!

Thanks for the help guys!
__________________
Gaming Rig:
-Swiffy MCP35x X2, (2) Aphacool UT60 480 rad, Heatkiller rev. 3.0, i7 3930k @ 4.6 Ghz, 16 GB G.SKILL F3, Asus Rampage IV Extreme, XFX R9 290 w/ XPSC WB, Crucial M4 128GB & 240 GB Intel 530, (5) 3 TB Toshiba Drive, Corsair AX1200, Win 7 Ult 64-bit

HTPC Rig:
-G3258 @ Stock, Asrock Z97 Pro 4, Gigabyte 270x, 500 GB WD Black, (5) 2 TB WD Green, (1) 3 TB Toshiba HD, (1) 2 TB Samsung F4, Fractal Design R3, Corsair HX620 PS, Win 7 Ult 64-bit
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] WC parts (pump, res, tubing, chipset block and 4850 compatible GPU block) donimo Buy/Sell & Trade 5 February 2, 2009 11:53 AM
Red Ring of Death bites MS in the butt...LIVE SKYMTL Press Releases & Tech News 27 February 22, 2008 12:53 PM
Help with 2900xt installation SirenOfDarkness Video Cards 15 September 9, 2007 01:40 AM
Installation of Windows XP enaberif O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 January 24, 2007 10:54 PM