Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2011, 12:26 PM
Reyzac's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 270

My System Specs

Default

Where do I access the temp sensors on a P4? I may have forgotten to mention that.

So thanks, I think I'll refrain from trying to stick it in between. I think otherwise I'll just use the side of the heat spreader, you can still easily access it under the block.
__________________
Who needs a real doctor when you got my machines and their scary needles?
I also go by Silver Blues in lots of other places.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2011, 05:34 PM
krazyups's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: McGregor, Ontario
Posts: 277

My System Specs

Default

IIRC, they're on-die, under the heat spreader and inaccessible.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2011, 04:15 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,946
Default

yes on die thermoressistors is the way to go with speedfan,real temp are some apps out there

or for spot temp cheaper
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2011, 09:03 AM
Reyzac's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 270

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for the info guys, I'll see if I can get readings from the temp sensors on die.
__________________
Who needs a real doctor when you got my machines and their scary needles?
I also go by Silver Blues in lots of other places.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old February 6, 2011, 11:19 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LarkStarr View Post
what in the world.. why..?


you can't just run a thermocouple between a chip and a heatsink, that will mess up the heatsink entirely unless you drill/etch out a channel in the heatsink.. but then you're just going to be measuring that specific area, not the entire chip.

I'd find a way to measure the exhaust temperatures. that's your best bet with something like that. stick it in between a heatsink fin somewhere not too close to the fan..

what's wrong with your onboard CPU temp sensors?

and yes, flattening the ball will likely mess up the probe.
CPU temperature sensors aren't very accurate and are totally useless when you go below 10C on the CPU. If you are an extreme bencher or using the power of the Canadian Outdoors you might want to even have a rough idea of your CPU temperature.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old February 6, 2011, 11:30 AM
Reyzac's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 270

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by charliehorse55 View Post
CPU temperature sensors aren't very accurate and are totally useless when you go below 10C on the CPU. If you are an extreme bencher or using the power of the Canadian Outdoors you might want to even have a rough idea of your CPU temperature.
Below 10C is not going to happen. The sensors will be fine for my application, and I still have the thermocouple just in case.
__________________
Who needs a real doctor when you got my machines and their scary needles?
I also go by Silver Blues in lots of other places.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP Q6600 @ 2.4 stock - Speedfan and Asus Probe alerts CPU @ 119*C CoolHandL CPU's and Motherboards 6 April 22, 2010 07:09 PM
Asus Probe II and Core Temp Dave510 Troubleshooting 4 March 11, 2009 06:35 AM
thermaltake temp probe on/off elninio Water Cooling 2 June 9, 2008 09:23 AM
T-line with temp probe flclisgreat Water Cooling 7 May 10, 2008 11:30 AM