Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2008, 07:55 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,630

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark View Post
Ok so how is this?
You got it!
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2008, 08:10 PM
Dark's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 26
Default

Coolio thanks guys!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2008, 10:52 PM
Dark's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 26
Default

Ok one more question, is a push + pull system ideal? I am going to throw the OS on the machine tomrrow and let it run Prime95 for a while to check temps and right now the fans are pushing air through the rad.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2008, 11:08 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

A "push" setup is what you want with Thermochill rads. Owing to their core design (low resistance), a push-pull setup has somewhat less benefit on them than on other models. You'll see some improvement, but it'll be a case of diminishing returns (and those Noctua's aren't cheap).
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2008, 01:20 AM
Dark's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 26
Default

lol yea the Noctua's are stupid expensive but damn are they quite, like wow the HSF combo on the PIV that is powering the setup right now is louder haha. Thanks for the info on the push/pull setup, that is what I thought with the Thermochill rad.

Oh while thinking about it, ever see a small leak (as in a few drops) happen at cooler temps? Seems I have one but only shows when the whole setup gets fairly cold (like when the balcony door is open for about five minutes). It is not enough to make a mess just enough to show a wet spot on a folded paper towel (through only the top layer).
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2008, 08:51 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,630

My System Specs

Default

You cannot have a leak. Ever.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2008, 10:05 AM
Dark's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 26
Default

ha yea I figured as much. Still not sure where it is coming from, well it do know it is from the second GPU block just not sure why.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2008, 10:20 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,630

My System Specs

Default

You'd better find out, 'cause it may cost you some hardware. Liquid and electricity don't match very well...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2008, 11:01 AM
Jack Rabbit's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 784

My System Specs

Default

Why are you mounting the radiator on top of the secondary enclosure. This seems like an ok place for it on a normal case (for a variety of reasons) but there is the problem of stuff falling into it: spilled coffee would drip right through or a falling book could smash the radiator fins. If the second enclosure is basically just going to be a mostly empty box why not mount the radiator vertically in there for some protection? I think that might also muffle the fans somewhat without terribly reducing airflow.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2008, 01:54 PM
Dark's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 26
Default

3.0Charlie, I found the leak. It turns out the top of the GPU waterblock was a tad loose, and one of the barbs was a little lose. Tighted both and now its going pretty good now for the past three hours with no leaking so yea!

Jack Rabbit, why on top? easier to build the secondary stand that way, and if coffee spills on it I have issues as the setup will not be beside the desk (the tower will be but the rad, etc will be a bit from it). I do have a grill plate that will be on the top so unless it is something pretty heavy nothing should be doing damage to the fins on it.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stack 830 SLI setup Robilar(OCN) Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 9 March 16, 2008 01:19 PM
Help with WC setup Cptn Vortex Water Cooling 6 October 3, 2007 12:18 PM
how does this setup look? moditir Water Cooling 24 August 26, 2007 09:41 AM
FTP setup problem Phredd Smytthe Networking 35 August 18, 2007 09:56 AM
New Watercooled Setup cdn_Madrach Water Cooling 41 March 11, 2007 11:48 AM