Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2008, 12:47 AM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default Will this all work?

Im planning on cooling my GPU and NB with water now. I need to know if this will all work.

Pump: MCP655
CPU: Swiftech Storm.
GPU: D-TEK Customs Fuzion GFX with UNI-SINK heatsink
Chipset: Swiftech MCW30
Radiator: MCR220 QP
Tubing: 7/16 ID Swiftech Vinyl Tubing

Plus, is the Thermalright HR-05-SLI better than my current waterblock?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2008, 08:03 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,627

My System Specs

Default

Your CPU is cooled with what? I'm asking since a dual 120mm rad may not be enough to handle the heat load of an oc'ed CPU, a 680i NB and a 8800GTX core. otherwise, your parts are fine. And no, the HR-05 SLI is not better than the MCW30. But you could use it on the SB...

Here's a pic of a P180 with a Swiftech Ultra+ kit, with the HR-05 SLI cooling the SB.

__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2008, 10:09 AM
chibi_man's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Courtice, Ontario
Posts: 494

My System Specs

Default

I agree with Charlie.
However a bare minimum WC setup will be more efficient then most if not all air cooling units. your Dual Rad I would believe is fine for nominal speeds. OC you will obviously raise the temps but I don't think you would be near any trouble with that rad.

All depends on how far you go. WC is pretty simple and straight forward. Best way to learn about it is to try it and experiment. Good luck
__________________
_____________________________________
If you can't beat it... SMASH IT!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2008, 01:07 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

I'm not sure that I'd bother with the Storm on your CPU. It was always optimized for single-core CPU's with no IHS. It still holds its own, but its design has a very high pressure drop, which isn't a good thing for a multiple waterblock setup. Much better to grab an Apogee GT/GTX or D-Tek Fusion, if possible. The double rad will handle the heat load, but you might not have the luxury of undervolting the fans.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2008, 01:12 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,627

My System Specs

Default

I would go for a triple rad just in case, since it's a 680i NB and you have a GTX - both get damn hot. For the price difference, the dual rad is not worth it.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2008, 04:35 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

I was running something very similar. I have since expanded my loop, but before I was running a overclocked quadcore, 680ichipset, and 8800GTX. My GPU temps never rose above 55, and my CPU stayed below 60 as well, full load. That was with the dualfan RAD. Reasonable temps, but adding a second dualfan RAD and a second GTX I have much better temps now. Both GPU's never go above 48, and my CPU maxes at about 49. Love it!
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2008, 05:20 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

If I get a new rad and CPU block then I will go higher than my budget.. I already have the rad and CPU and the pump already. What if I use a dual rad and a single rad? will that have the same performance of a triple rad? Or at least better than a dual rad? I also have the Apogee block but I heard its outdated and the copper part is quite scratched

EDIT: Nvm I just found a Swiftech triple rad on NCIX for just $49!

Last edited by Infiniti; January 8, 2008 at 05:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2008, 06:37 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

If the triple rad in in your budget, and fits on your case, it's definitely the way to go.

The original Apogee? It's not as good as the later models, but it will still likely outperform the Storm. And you've get a much higher flow-rate to boot. If you can smooth the bottom out, I'd want to try that instead. Scratches anywhere else are irrelevant.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2008, 07:13 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

Well I will try to smooth out the Apogee.. but for now, im quite sure I gotta use the storm as buying a GT will go way over $200.

Is this setup good? Pump->Rad->GPU->NB->CPU->Tline->Pump or is there a better way to achieve better temps? (ie. CPU first then GPU and NB)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2008, 07:20 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,627

My System Specs

Default

CPU first then GPU and NB. And you won't regret a triple rad.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
omg links no work Digitaldemon Suggestions & Feedback 3 March 13, 2008 09:59 AM
Will This Work? stormkiller22 Troubleshooting 9 March 5, 2008 05:02 PM
TAT will not work. yycraven Troubleshooting 13 February 14, 2008 07:49 AM
Will this card(old) work for my rig? bobaban Video Cards 7 October 25, 2007 04:58 PM
how does RMA work? vblanche CPU's and Motherboards 4 July 24, 2007 10:36 AM