Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2010, 12:17 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 24
Default should I upgrade my loop?

Well, I have been using this for 2 years on a core2quad x3210. I have a swiftech 655, swiftech mcr220 rad, and apogee gtz. I have an order being shipped to me right now from NCIX with my new case (haf x), mobo (asus p6x58d-e) and ram (gskill ripjaws 1600) and im almost regretting not buying a new cpu block and rad while I made the order. I guess Im going to hook it all up when it gets here but would I really notice much of a difference from a new cpu block and a 120.3 rad? I only cool my cpu.

*edit* I forgot to mention I already have my i7 970. Which I will obviously be overclocking.

Last edited by Raftus; December 17, 2010 at 12:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2010, 12:25 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

I didn't and i just bought a 1156 bracket to go on my gtz and it didn't make a difference that much on my 920's so why would it make a big one on my 1156's. my2cents
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2010, 12:42 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 24
Default

I have a bracket already for the 1366 socket. It came with my gtz. Which was nice. I guess I will hook it all up and test it. If I dont get temps I like I can always upgrade. I really like the look of my cpu block. I havent got my case yet but if I can somehow manage to internally mount 2 rads I might just try it. I guess that will be a project for the new year. Lets just see how this goes for now. Dang ground shipping is taking forever.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2010, 12:49 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 271

My System Specs

Default

Probably not with the block... blocks on the market today are within a degree or two of each other... only thing that differ is the flow rate some blocks may have versus others.. the increase in radiator size would probably be your best upgrade... if you were to choose from the two...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 20, 2010, 01:44 PM
Dazmode's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,700
Default

I would upgrade if you like newer fresh look, not for major performance breakthrough.
__________________
Venom Build: Caselabs SMH10, 3930k, 2x GTX680, MSI BigBangII, 8x Dominators, 2 x D5 , Quad Rad, Adaptec 7805, 4x WD Red, 2x Intel 510, Aquaero 5, 11x GT
Silent Sniper Build: Final Video, XSPC H1 Cube case, Supreme HF, 2xGTX470, GA G1 Sniper, Dominators, 2x Triple rad, Triebwerk Fans, 2x D5, Custom Sleeving
Orange Build: Final Video
HTPC Build: Final Video
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 20, 2010, 03:36 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 271

My System Specs

Default

:-) yeah I just recently upgraded for partial looks & partial performance. guilty!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 20, 2010, 04:06 PM
Fudd Rucker's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SSM Ont
Posts: 956

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vohiep84 View Post
:-) yeah I just recently upgraded for partial looks & partial performance. guilty!
How is that new TFC working out for you?
__________________
I couldnt think of something snarky or interesting to put here this time around.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 20, 2010, 05:50 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 271

My System Specs

Default

Required a little cleaning but after that it was all good... added it to my singleloop.. currently sitting at the bottom of my corsair 700D :-D.

How's the RX360?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do I have everything I need for WC loop? ADay2Long Water Cooling 15 August 6, 2010 10:34 PM
Another loop order, single/dual loop thread... turtletrax Water Cooling 8 July 28, 2010 09:40 PM
VGA upgrade from GTX 260 first, or CPU+mobo upgrade first? panzerfan Video Cards 9 April 6, 2010 09:25 PM
Loop help Lpfan4ever Water Cooling 12 September 22, 2009 07:22 PM
My Soon-To-Be loop Kopi Water Cooling 5 October 23, 2007 01:49 PM