Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2010, 06:00 AM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,836
Default Quick disconnect of tubing?

Just wondering if anyone has used these before? Do they restrict flow? I guess I need the male and female.
K -1/2 ID Tubing, Extreme Flow, Quick Disconnect Valve F 1/2 ID Tubing, Extreme Flow, Quick Disconnect Valve [VL4-F13-19S] - $19.99 : DazMode, Canadian PC Water Cooling and Modding Store
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2010, 06:02 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

I used them on a build a long time ago and had no problems what so every. justmy2cents
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2010, 08:25 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,869

My System Specs

Default

I have the 3/8" ID ones from the VL3 series. Works perfectly fine. Not sure how it impacts flow though.

They do still let out a fair bit of fluid when disconnecting though, so you'll want to have the paper towel close by.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2010, 08:32 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

all quick disconnects do let out some fluid so having paper towel is pretty much mandatory
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2010, 09:11 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,411

My System Specs

Default

I used some on an older build, they do make moving stuff around easier in the long run.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2010, 04:58 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,141
Default

Very nice QD's, and very free-flowing, although I have to say that they let out more than 0.5-1mL of fluid when you disconnect them. But yeah, every single one of my builds for the last year or so has used these. A little pricy, but a lot more useful than a lot of the fitting bling around these days. And yeah, you'll need one male and one female to make a connection.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2010, 05:08 AM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

So 40$ for one connection, expensive.
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2010, 06:32 AM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,474

My System Specs

Default

Yes, very expensive. It really depends how much modding and the like you do on your rig, sometimes that 80 bucks (since you'll probably need atleast two in a setup...) is worth it.

Me personally? I think its cheaper just to buy 12 bucks worth of new hose, and rerun my rig...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2010, 07:57 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

if you rework your loop a lot/often? very worth it. quite expensive as mentioned, and do have a big towel under it.

and even after you connect it, and you give it a go make sure you got something under for the first minutes. i may be paranoid about it, but never lost anything that way :p
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2010, 10:14 AM
Dazmode's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,688
Default

VL4 is a least restrictive type from all Koolance QDCs. I used VL3N myself they barely spill 1 drop of water. I wish they would be not as huge, otherwise i would use them more.
__________________
Venom Build: Caselabs SMH10, 3930k, 2x GTX680, MSI BigBangII, 8x Dominators, 2 x D5 , Quad Rad, Adaptec 7805, 4x WD Red, 2x Intel 510, Aquaero 5, 11x GT
Silent Sniper Build: Final Video, XSPC H1 Cube case, Supreme HF, 2xGTX470, GA G1 Sniper, Dominators, 2x Triple rad, Triebwerk Fans, 2x D5, Custom Sleeving
Orange Build: Final Video
HTPC Build: Final Video
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick question on UV and fittings/tubing Patlabor Water Cooling 7 March 4, 2010 02:14 PM
internet dosconnect ,connect,disconnect????? WolfBane Troubleshooting 8 June 28, 2009 04:47 PM
Tubing, tubing... what to choose? Dazmode Water Cooling 16 June 23, 2009 02:32 PM
quick quick can we do 4 gtx 285 sli? hohohee Video Cards 7 June 7, 2009 10:14 PM
Acer Aspire 9300 Weird Wireless Disconnect Problem Constantine Troubleshooting 0 January 15, 2009 11:02 AM