Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2010, 04:08 PM
homer98's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Hamilton, ON
Posts: 130

My System Specs

Default Rad Size

Hey everyone,

I have another question before I finalize my WC loop. Im not sure if I can fit a triple rad if the HAF 922. If I go with double rad (RX240 instead of RX360) should it suffice for cpu only loop? later on I would like to expand to gpu cooling as well, but at the moment just cpu.

Any thoughts? Cheers
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2010, 04:12 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

i ran a 920 in fact several of them on a dual then on a tripple i add the tripple later cause i wanted lower temps when i add in some gpu'ss to the loop. my2cents
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2010, 04:16 PM
ForTheGG's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Calgary AB Canada
Posts: 155

My System Specs

Default

Depends on the amount of heat generated. An average 120mm radiator can dissipate approx. 200W of heat, for example the Corsair H-50. A stock Core i7 920 is 130W. So in theory a dual 120mm radiator could dissipate 400W of heat. However I use the term "dissipate" lightly meaning that the temps may not be phenomenal. A Dual is fine for a CPU only loop, if you're adding GPU's later you'll probably need a triple.
__________________
"Sang Noir"
-Cooler Master Storm Sniper Black Mesh Edition
-Intel Core i7 920 D0 @ 4.116GHz 1.318VCore 24/7 HT On
-Corsair H-50 + 2x Cooler Master R4
-Asus RoG Rampage III Extreme
-6GB OCZ Platinum Triple Channel DDR3-1600 [7-7-7-20]
-2x EVGA GTX 295+ Quad SLI
-Corsair HX-1000
-WD 160GB Raptor 10000RPM
-WD 1000GB Black 7200RPM

http://valid.canardpc.com/cache/banner/1249140.png
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2010, 06:43 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

Honestly, I ran a 4.0GHz i7 and a GTX280 for quite some time on an MCR220 and low-speed fans. Temps weren't legendary, but it was plenty. Just a CPU won't be an issue at all. Depending on the GPU, you may win up needing either more rad or stronger fans later on, though.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2010, 07:58 PM
homer98's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Hamilton, ON
Posts: 130

My System Specs

Default

Ok, thanks for the input. What about adding a single as well as a double rad? Maybe placing the single rad in the exhaust location? Will that perform almost as good as a triple Rad??
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2010, 08:06 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,960

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by homer98 View Post
Ok, thanks for the input. What about adding a single as well as a double rad? Maybe placing the single rad in the exhaust location? Will that perform almost as good as a triple Rad??
Yes. There will be an ever so small drop in flow, but nothing substantial.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2010, 08:35 PM
homer98's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Hamilton, ON
Posts: 130

My System Specs

Default

mmk, I know you said to me that a triple would be obviously better and if I could fit it then try to get a triple. But I think going double and single will be better so it will all fit inside my case.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2010, 04:11 AM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default

I think doing one double, and a single, would not perform better than just a double - due to the restriction of water flow having to goto the second rad. It would be a waste of cash imo.
The XSPC is a good rad, and the RX240 would be more than enough for a single CPU only loop with high overclocks.. assuming you use decent fans.
I recommend the Scythe S-FLEX SFF21E fans for rads - good static pressure, quiet and good airflow. If 1200rpm is too fast, the D version runs at 800rpm. Liquid berring, and long lasting.. the 10 or so I've purchased are still going strong after a year - can't say that much for the CM R4's, YL or GELID fans I own.
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2010, 08:24 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,960

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rison View Post
I think doing one double, and a single, would not perform better than just a double - due to the restriction of water flow having to goto the second rad. It would be a waste of cash imo.
.
I really can't agree with that. First radiators add very little restriction. Secondly the only difference between a 2x120mm radiator and two 120mm radiators is the amount of tubing required to plump the loop. That tiny amount of tubing is going to make next to zero difference in flow. I myself use three radiators, and adding the second and even the third radiator gave my very noticeable drops in temperatures.

Last edited by lowfat; December 9, 2010 at 09:12 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2010, 08:54 AM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

A dual + single will be good enough.
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does Size matter? (smartphones) dustin1706 Mobile Computing 11 February 7, 2011 06:06 AM
aluminum which size? CTA Cases 6 October 20, 2010 11:33 PM
What Stripe Size to Use? catnhat Storage 2 August 25, 2010 10:19 AM
Sleeve size question donkon Guides & How-to's 0 June 27, 2009 11:53 AM
Single rad $$$ > Dual rad $$$ why? frosty Water Cooling 9 July 16, 2008 03:39 PM