Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 7, 2010, 12:37 AM
Restricted Poster

Default Custom-made waterblock

Hey guys. I've been thinking about starting to watercool my system, but I don't really want to spend a lot of money on it just yet. It'd be best if I could get a watercooling setup going for about 200 bucks- without gpu watercooling.

So to save money, I've decided to make my own waterblock. The problem is, I'm new to watercooling and I have no idea how a waterblock works, or how I would go about making one. I have googled for many hours on waterblocks but I still don't really understand how it works. During my googling, I saw a lot of different kind of designs for the inside of the waterblock. Which design would be the best? I work with CNC machines, milling machines, etc. as a part of my career, and I can do just about anything with cutting metal.

If someone could help me out with this, I'd really appreciate it. Thanks! If you've made your own waterblock before, pictures would be sweet.
Old December 7, 2010, 01:16 AM
Banned
F@H

well..picture a chamber tru which there is flow. now in this chamber you better have some 'fins' or rather ridges to maximize the surface area that gets in contact with the liquid. picture a flood going tru a forest or some pillars or such.

then focus on the flow. the easier it goes tru the better.

and then seal the chamber, add your fittings and stuff, make a bracket to go with your cpu/gpu and then take it from there. who knows, in a while you may have a business based on it, if it sells well and of course performs

me and a bud built a couple way back in the day, we had issues mating the two pieces together lol for no leaks.
Old December 7, 2010, 01:54 AM
Restricted Poster

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post