Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old December 28, 2007, 06:09 AM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 744

My System Specs

Default Push/pull

Well, I tried tightening down the waterblock and I added a second fan on the rad (push/pull) and it got me temps under control for now. With the second fan and the waterblock tightend down a little I now get idle temps around 29/30c and under full load (Folding@home SMP or Gears of War PC Game) I get max temps of about 45-46c. Before I tried this I played Gears of War for 10 minutes and my CPU overheated so I think I have found the problem. When I get the backplate I have ordered I am going to re-seat everything and replace the 2 fans on the rad with one higher pressure one. Thanks for everybodies help.
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old December 28, 2007, 06:44 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,418

My System Specs

Default

Good to hear that you've got some improvement.

How's that FX60 working out for you on the Asrock board? I'm assuming that the Dual VSTA bios is similar to the S775 version.... does it have multiplier settings?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old December 28, 2007, 07:06 AM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 744

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Good to hear that you've got some improvement.

How's that FX60 working out for you on the Asrock board? I'm assuming that the Dual VSTA bios is similar to the S775 version.... does it have multiplier settings?
The board is actually pretty good for a cheap board. I was use to enthusiasts (sp?) ASUS mobos before I went to this. This was only suppose to be a stepping stone board since I had a AGP card and wanted to move to a 939 CPU at the time (this board has AGP and PCIe 16x slots on it). The FX is a nice chip and I got it for a steal during the decline of 939 early in 2007.

The board has full overclocking ability but there is not alot of voltage range so your overclocking is limited to within the voltages provided. There is a hack you can do to increase voltages but I never bothered. I know people that have had HUGE FSB overclocking on this board with good ram but I have never had much luck with myself, I think this is due to my ram I am using and the fact that I am using 4 sticks instead of just 2. I have been able to get the CPU to 3Ghz a few times but not for very long. I am going to add a second loop to my system and cool my NB and my HD2900XT when I am sure the first loop is stable. Thanks for the help!
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old December 28, 2007, 07:58 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,246

My System Specs

Default

When you do get the backplate you might want to consider "bowing" your Apogee as that nets you a few more degrees, make sure that it is oriented the correct way when you do put it back together.
CPU Water Block Round Up APOGEE GT/GTX vs. STORM vs. FuZion vs. APOGEE vanilla
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old December 28, 2007, 12:50 PM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 744

My System Specs

Default

Interstesting idea, a little too risky for me but interesting none the less. Thank for the help everybody, when I re-seat everything and re-arrange my fans (after I get back from holidays) I will post my results.
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2007, 02:31 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 305
Default

any luck>> I see you posted on the Swiftech fourm... but form what i read there seemed to be no real help..... hope it works out... Im still pondering the purchase of one of these units... wether its the 120 or 220..... im tired of having to stop at 3.2 ghz on my cpu....
__________________
i2600k sandy bridge @ 3.4ghz/ 2x 8800 GTX KO ACS3 PCI-E 630MHZ 768MB 2.0GHZ SLI'd / Raptor 74GB / Antec 1200 Hundred Gaming Case / G.Skill Ripjaws ddr3 1600 cl 8-8-8-24 - 8gigs / evga z68 SLI MOBO / Samsung DVD+RW / Corsair ax850 PSU / 24" Samsung CinkMaster

Cooling:
Swiftech Dual rad
Swiftech Single rad
Swiftech Micro Res
Swiftech Apogee GT Cpu block
Feser One Red Fluid
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2008, 02:54 PM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 744

My System Specs

Default

Well it looks like it is a combination of not using the correct backing plate (which I now have one) and not using fans with good static pressure. I tightened down the waterblock a bit and added a second fan in a push/pull config and my idle temps dropped to about 39c and under load I get about 46c (using either folding at home smp client or running gears of war pc). My CPU is slightly overclocked as well so I think these temps are now good.
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2008, 03:30 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,614

My System Specs

Default

Good to hear that all is back to normal. You're folding for which team?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2008, 01:21 AM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 744

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Good to hear that all is back to normal. You're folding for which team?
37412 Ncix
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2008, 08:43 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,614

My System Specs

Default

Nah, nah, nah. It's supposed to be 54196!
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Swiftech Apogee GT question Vinnie Water Cooling 8 February 23, 2008 02:43 PM
Swiftech H20-120 Compact instock! $132! Cptn Vortex Water Cooling 18 December 2, 2007 02:14 PM
swiftech mcp655 wiring Corpus Masochist Water Cooling 15 September 9, 2007 09:30 PM
don't like the Swiftech micro reservoir Corpus Masochist Water Cooling 10 August 23, 2007 06:30 AM
Swiftech APOGEE Drive JD Water Cooling 14 August 16, 2007 10:35 PM