Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2007, 08:55 PM
Misoprostol
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Did you remove the shim around the GPU?
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2007, 09:30 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 54
Default

Yes I did remove the shim around the GPU for the second attempt with the same results. That's why I then gave up on the water block as its pretty simple in design and should have fit really
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2007, 01:49 AM
Misoprostol
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

that's very strange....
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2007, 07:25 PM
cdn_Madrach's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Miramichi, New Brunswick
Posts: 631
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Before, during, and after pics with a quick description of the process and what went well, and definately what didn't... :)

Here's a link to the only one I've done.......

http://www.diy-street.com/forum/show...77&postcount=1

It's certainly not a template, but it should give you an idea of what kind of things folks might be looking for.
Thanks Wilson. That helps, I like how you posted mistakes and the pics were great. The last of my parts should be in early next week. Probably tackle it the week after that :)
__________________
Intel e8400
Asus P5q pro
Mushkin Redline 4gb
Silverstone Strider 1kw modular
4870x2
Ocz Vendetta 2
Top deck Tech Station
Samsung dvd
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2007, 09:52 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default Well.. I did it!

I placed my WC order tonight and I'm feeling a little crazy-- still wondering i I would have been better off buying a second evga 8800gts before they go extinct-- I know that would have been the best performance boost seeing how I'm already running at 3.4 on my e6400 and 600/1000 on my gpu-- but hey WC is G.D. cool-- please feel free to offer encouragement......PLEASE!

Last edited by Babrbarossa; February 27, 2007 at 11:06 PM. Reason: cpu? no gpu
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old February 28, 2007, 05:08 AM
cdn_Madrach's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Miramichi, New Brunswick
Posts: 631
Default

WC is kewl and properly lit up always has a WOW factor lol. A friend of mine once described computers as being like cars or motorcycles. Always want one to go faster or look kewler. WC does that for computers:) Don't forget the pics, before, during ,and after. I started mine last night and took lots of pics. Should be able to mount the water blocks and drill the holes in my case tday.... I hope, provided the family cooperates lol.
__________________
Intel e8400
Asus P5q pro
Mushkin Redline 4gb
Silverstone Strider 1kw modular
4870x2
Ocz Vendetta 2
Top deck Tech Station
Samsung dvd
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old February 28, 2007, 11:22 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,256

My System Specs

Default

Right on Guys

Cant wait for all those pics.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old February 28, 2007, 12:36 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,779
Default

Ummm....you might want to know that your 8800GTS has TEN memory modules (64MB X 10 = 640) and the Swiftech MCW60 only comes with EIGHT ramsinks. In addition, is the MCW60 contact area large enough to completely cover a G80 core?
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old February 28, 2007, 12:52 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for the heads up SKYMTL-- I looked at the compatibility list and it said it was good for all 8800 models, but I never considered that there wouldn't be enough ramsinks-- I'll look into it with NCIX.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old February 28, 2007, 01:13 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,779
Default

Both the NCIX product page and Swiftech's site lists it as including 8 ramsinks. Buying this kit would probably be good for you:

http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...cture=Swiftech

With that you woundn't need to buy the Mosfet coolers seperately.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes