Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2010, 03:19 PM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default Comos S Watercooling Part 2

Well i decided it was time to change my liquid today it had been almost a year give or take probably a little less i kinda lost track of time and since i didnt use the pc much after i bought my Laptop i kinda lost track of time. As i was blasting away the dust with the MG Chemical dust can which btw is superb i totally recommend it. Here is my old setup ill take any suggestions ive been out of the watercooling world so any new parts would be welcomed i might as well put in brand new tubes because the tubes look a little too cloudy well here are some pics.

I have already bought a 600 watt Modular OCZ Powersupply so will be adding that in too with the build.


Any Suggestions would be welcomed.
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.


Last edited by Dashock; November 11, 2010 at 03:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2010, 03:32 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,419

My System Specs

Default

You mean doing some upgrades? You could definitely toss in a new GPU there. Sagath is selling a GTX 460 for $140 ( http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...pu-cooler.html ) and lowfat has 460 blocks for $75 ( http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...mm-f1-4-a.html )

That'd be a decent upgrade that'd work well with your loop.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2010, 03:49 PM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

the upgrades are mostly the watercooling side im gonna upgrade to the new platform next year i dont use this pc as much since i got my laptop. I did notice the new Swiftech Reservoir Rev2 so thats definetely going up there.
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2010, 04:02 PM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

Im guessing i do not have to change my pump its only been running for a year and half. so far my order is

Swiftech Reservoir Rev 2
Swiftech 7/16 Tubing


If anyone is using the new rev im guessing i can use the old chrome barbs i had in my setup i believe they are 1/2 chrome barbs.
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2010, 05:51 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,419

My System Specs

Default

I'd say get some Feser or Primochill tubing and use distilled water instead. There's not much point in changing anything else, but cleaning out your blocks wouldn't hurt. Sometimes those dyes/coloured fluids gunk up blocks a fair bit.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2010, 07:43 PM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

I see those tubes have anti bacterial are they any good and how often would i need to change the liquid?
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2010, 07:54 PM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

Because i have some of the swiftech tubing left and if its shorter intervals then swiftech id rather keep using it since i have another 6 bottles of hydrx
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2010, 09:24 PM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,589
Default

Even though the tubes say anti-microbial, it is still a good idea, and a highly recommended one to add another additive. Either that be a silver KillCoil, or PT Nuke, you should have something.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2010, 10:07 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,419

My System Specs

Default

Yeah the anti-bacterial tubing was something about not letting certain types of light through the tube, but if you have a resevoir that's clear, or any place else it defeats the purpose. Me personally, I have 4 silver plated barbs, so far it seems to be doing the job just fine. I suggested Feser/Primo because they don't seem to be too bad about clouding up.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2010, 11:13 PM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

good point i think i will do the primo chill black and use Hydrx good idea thoughts? im gonna redo the place where i put my reservoir and stuff but its cool i was telling myself i need a project.
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help Looking For Part hero_of_the_day Video Cards 2 April 29, 2010 09:18 AM
[FS] Watercooling part out - All Sold Lpfan4ever Buy/Sell & Trade 20 April 27, 2010 07:40 PM
[FS] Partial Part-Out jetOne Buy/Sell & Trade 11 December 27, 2008 12:35 PM
Upgrade Part II Phaddie New Builds 45 November 4, 2008 05:18 PM
WaterKegIII Extreme external Watercooling unit, Watercooling stuff Apollo4g Buy/Sell & Trade 9 June 9, 2008 10:49 PM