Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2010, 12:27 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default what material for filter

this thread is interesting to read... Some Wire Mesh/Filter/Fan Grill Testing... - XtremeSystems Forums

but i cant find ac ryan meshx anywhere in canada...

and i also find another silly but unique filter at Computer Dust Filters | DustX Computer Dust Solutions

so what kind of material for fitler do you use for your radiator?
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2010, 12:33 PM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,587
Default

I wouldn't bother using a filter - unless there is that big of a problem with dust. They just add restriction and noise to the situation, and no one wants that :p

I don't use anything. My PC doesn't collect dust very well as it is in the basement, and I am practically the only one down there - and thats not even that often. I just use some comprassed air and a vacuum once every couple months.

Even then it's not that bad.
__________________
DEAD CA$H
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2010, 12:44 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

is it easy to clean radiator? i dont want to unhook the tubing then clean it if radiator is at the tight location...

ac ryan only have 3% air flow loss compare to other... (how to say that?)
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2010, 12:44 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,975

My System Specs

Default

I use to use Silverstone filters but they are so damned restrictive I am back to not using any. I'd rather clean out my radiator once every month or two than deal with the added noise and significant loss in CFM.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CTA View Post
is it easy to clean radiator? i dont want to unhook the tubing then clean it if radiator is at the tight location...

ac ryan only have 3% air flow loss compare to other... (how to say that?)
Just Take compressed air to it.

The AC Ryan is mesh, it wouldn't do a thing to prevent dust.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2010, 12:45 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,529

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CTA View Post
is it easy to clean radiator? i dont want to unhook the tubing then clean it if radiator is at the tight location...

ac ryan only have 3% air flow loss compare to other... (how to say that?)
If you can get the fans off, you can clean it with a vacuum cleaner. Easy as that.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2010, 01:14 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

but see dust at YouTube - #5: A.C.Ryan Alumino Dustfilter Video Review (CCReviews) ... :?


ok i have to find screw for fans... i am planning to use zip ties >_>;
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2010, 11:34 PM
chubaka's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Van
Posts: 306

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CTA View Post
but see dust at YouTube - #5: A.C.Ryan Alumino Dustfilter Video Review (CCReviews) ... :?


ok i have to find screw for fans... i am planning to use zip ties >_>;
Filters cannot be good at both letting air through effectively and keeping dust out. It is one way or the other. What I would recommend is get those low restriction mesh filters and clean it once every month depending on how dusty your room is. It doesnt trap dust well though and eventually you will need to clean the rad. If your room is not really dusty, you dont need one.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2010, 12:15 AM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

my suite is not that dusty... so i am okay with clean the radiators... thank you for some advices tho...

but what about psu? i bet you cant open the psu case and clean it...
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2010, 06:16 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,946
Default

use your girlfriends worn/torn nylon hose to make inlet filters
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2010, 08:11 AM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,587
Default

That's why I use a pull method for my radiator. Much easier to clean :) I blow air into the opening, and the fans help suck it out. On the other side is the vacuum
__________________
DEAD CA$H
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
noise filter help needed mo' power Networking 8 January 11, 2010 03:31 AM
Preferred Filter Tweaker for Windows 7 artistpavel HTPC Systems & Software 11 January 10, 2010 07:51 PM
did youtube filter copy/paste? hohohee Off Topic 1 December 11, 2009 07:44 AM
[WTT] Shipping material matsta31 Buy/Sell & Trade 10 January 23, 2009 09:09 AM
Spam filter for Outlook Kilauea Networking 12 August 24, 2008 08:42 PM