Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2010, 12:50 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 24

My System Specs

Default

Okay I put the system together and was wondering if i have the top radiator fans as exhaust and the side radiator fans as intake and then the back fan as exhaust and front as intake is this how you would set it up? Or have all the rad fans as intake?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2010, 01:14 PM
kruzn4evr's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Posts: 1,801

My System Specs

Default

IIRC I had mine set up with the top rad as intake and the side and rear as exhaust, I guess it sort of depends on what your cooling with the top rad, if the side rad is cooling one GPU and top is cooling everythinng else then you want the fresh air coming fron the top, at least I found it worked better that way, other way say otherwise.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2010, 02:56 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 24

My System Specs

Default

Its just one loop I have a 655 pump which I think should be enough I mean these aren't monster rads there thin. So it goes res>pump>240rad>gpu>cpu>360rad>res....repeat, basically from what I had been reading people were saying that having the 240 as intake and the 360 as exhaust is what you want, but did you experiment between these two setups or does it really matter?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 29, 2010, 01:10 PM
kruzn4evr's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Posts: 1,801

My System Specs

Default

I did try it both ways and for my set up, I found having the top as intake worked better, but remember, I had 2 gpu's, cpu and mobo to cool, for your set up you probably wouldn't see much temp difference if any so either way will be fine.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old October 29, 2010, 06:50 PM
Dazmode's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,678
Default

If rad is overloaded with components it is better to exhaust top triple rad or your ram will overheat.
__________________
Venom Build: Caselabs SMH10, 3930k, 2x GTX680, MSI BigBangII, 8x Dominators, 2 x D5 , Quad Rad, Adaptec 7805, 4x WD Red, 2x Intel 510, Aquaero 5, 11x GT
Silent Sniper Build: Final Video, XSPC H1 Cube case, Supreme HF, 2xGTX470, GA G1 Sniper, Dominators, 2x Triple rad, Triebwerk Fans, 2x D5, Custom Sleeving
Orange Build: Final Video
HTPC Build: Final Video
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old October 29, 2010, 06:57 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 24

My System Specs

Default

With the overclocked gtx 470 with (850/1700/1900) overclocks and the 4.2ghz oc on the processor I think the thin radiator gets a little overloaded, I should have said that I put the system together already with just the one 360mm radiator and left the 240mm radiator off(did install it and no kinks on the tubing with side panel closed) but I'm thinking about getting a res now and adding the extra radiator.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old October 29, 2010, 06:59 PM
kruzn4evr's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Posts: 1,801

My System Specs

Default

I never had that problem at all Daz, but then again the rad wasn't overloaded and neither should leepord's with just cpu and one gpu, either way, the temps won't vary by than a couple of degrees.

Ahhh...with just one triple rad?...exhaust for sure then.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2010, 10:51 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 24

My System Specs

Default

I'm going to try the side panel radiator mount for now, but eventually I think im going to remove the hdd cage and put the 240 rad up front and just move my single hd to a 5.25 slot this would make it simpler and neater. Thanks for the advice guys ill post some pics once I have all the radiators installed.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2010, 05:26 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 24

My System Specs

Default

So I finished the (rebuild) installation finally and noticed a drop of 6 degrees in temperature with the second radiator. The loop is setup as res>pump>240 rad> gpu block> cpu block> 360 rad repeat. The 360 rad has air flow exhausting and the 240 has air flow as intake. Had to use anti kink coil for the 240 rad otherwise it would well kink lol.
Attached Images
       
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2010, 03:57 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,849
Default

good job, liked the high rez
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
haf932 , swiftech , watercooling

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HAF 932 stencil mo' power Cases 6 April 13, 2010 09:10 PM
HAF 932 WC Setup Pax Water Cooling 10 January 18, 2010 08:19 PM
HAF 932 Upgrade icepizza Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 9 January 7, 2010 06:46 AM
[WTB] HAF 932 or Cosmos S miggs78 Buy/Sell & Trade 9 September 24, 2009 07:56 PM
Operation HAF Baked! Cooler Master HAF 932 Lithotech Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 42 December 17, 2008 09:22 AM