Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2010, 09:37 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default your first experience

i wonder... when did you have your watercool at first time... what did you make a mistake...? any nice tip from your experience...

leaking experience too! << and how did you solve that problem?
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2010, 09:56 PM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,587
Default

Hm, mine was only a couple years ago. I ordered a Swiftech H2O-220 kit, their Rampage Extreme NB block, different tubing and different fans. The installation went smooth and there was no leakage what-so-ever.

Just take your time and do not rush! Leaks don't really scare me anymore - as long as there is no power to the system and you let it dry out your okay. That is, if it gets passed the paper towel and shamwows I put down
__________________
DEAD CA$H
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2010, 08:50 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,927

My System Specs

Default

Few years back on my LGA775 system. No leaks. Didn't even leak test or any of that stuff. Did end up with some leaks due to cheapy barbs (Primochill ones) after a couple months. Nothing serious though and nothing got killed.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2010, 09:03 AM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default

what is a leak ?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2010, 10:04 AM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,772

My System Specs

Default

My first leak scared the shit out of me. Luckily it was out of my radiator barb, which the radiator is well below anything electronic.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2010, 10:13 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,037

My System Specs

Default

After killing a DFI NF2 Infinity many years back I learned to always test the loop for leaks installed but w/ all hardware off.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2010, 10:17 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,253

My System Specs

Default

Both of my Bitspower plastic tees cracked and leaked. No damage, replaced with Koolance metal tees.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2010, 04:39 PM
Fudd Rucker's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SSM Ont
Posts: 950

My System Specs

Default

My first setup was about 2 years ago, my first mistake i made was getting a thermaltake unit. That thing sucked ass lol. After that I did my first custom setup and my mistake there was cheap clamps with an mcp655 and a hose blew right off the cpu block and made an aweful mess. Board wasnt killed, but the lubricant in the coolant (primochill) didnt short anything out - it insulated everything from having juice go through it. Asus still RMAd the board lol.
__________________
I couldnt think of something snarky or interesting to put here this time around.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2010, 07:17 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 271

My System Specs

Default

Just put my custom waterloop together about a month ago after alot of research. Aparently I didn't research enough! Leaked in under 20 seconds. I Isolated the problem and the culrpit was the radiator. After a quick investigation, I found that I managed to pierce the radiator fins with the screws during mounting. Waterloop DELAYED until new radiator arrives.

So my advice is check the length of screws before mounting.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2010, 08:23 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,637
Default

My first setup had 0 issues.

I made sure everything was done properly and it ran solid for almost 1.5 yrs after I built it without a hitch.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone have any experience with BestDirect.ca? backpack New Builds 17 February 1, 2011 10:17 PM
My SSD Experience Canzara Storage 3 November 26, 2009 04:17 PM
My NCIX experience go flames go Off Topic 93 April 16, 2009 11:40 AM
My experience with A$US RMA Brian Off Topic 21 January 30, 2009 04:33 AM
DC Experience JD Off Topic 25 January 5, 2009 07:45 PM