Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2007, 02:03 PM
werty316's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 427
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cptn Vortex View Post
the dual 8800GT's are for his 3 x 30" monitors..... Yeah, pretty sweet.


Some heat could be reduced if two 8800GT weren't used unless they were gonna be used is some way for calculations...
__________________
If you can see Chuck Norris, he can see you. If you can't see Chuck Norris you may be only seconds away from death.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2007, 02:36 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

That is true, but remember, we needed a cost effective solution to power 3 x 2560x1600 monitors. No easy feat. The 8800GT seems like the only decent card capapble. Also, they are the new Zotac cards, with the updated cooler, and larger fan, so they remail quite silent. Max ATI tool load temp I recorded was 69.
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2007, 06:17 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

Those temps are much better - now go on and bench this monster until it screams. And take some pics.

John
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2007, 12:32 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

Monday monday..... Haha, we had a few computers hooked to to the same circuit I guess, and after a few mins of Prime, blew the breaker!! Hahaha, what a massive machine. Will bench it tomorrow!
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2007, 02:57 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

Here are some fun shots.
Attached Images
           
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2007, 05:19 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

That's one heck of a rig. I knew the P190 was big, but that thing is huge. The inside is cavernous! I just figured out something with the high CPU temps: the airflow may be disturbed by the upper mid-case fan (the in the middle). What I would try is this: remove the upper mid-case fan; relocate both HSF fans as follows: one on the bottom, one on top in push-pull config with the exhaust towards the mid-case grill.

Any space to slip a 25mm-thick fan between the 2 HSFs?

John
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2007, 05:38 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

I already thought about that. The best config is with the top front fan on low, and the top back fan on mid. Then more air is forced to go front to back. Also, there is not enought room for a fan on the bottom of the HS between the videocard and it. And no, not enough room for a fan between the two heatsinks either. I tried hahaha. I seem to have very decent temps now. With the fans the way they are, I get max 65 load. That is with 8 cores at 100%. I did a quick run of 3DMark06 and the max recorded temp was 48 haha.
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2007, 05:41 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

48C while running 3Dmark06? That's very good. Now I want to see some numbers!
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2007, 05:51 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

Not the greatest score, mainly cause there is no SLI support on this board. Single card only. I believe I took the temp reading when I only had one fan on the heatsink. Those load temps came down.
Attached Images
   
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2007, 06:01 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

That's a nice number actually for a stock rig. I don't know if you could run 2 instances of Prime95 V25.3 (found here: XtremeSystems Forums - View Single Post - New Prime95 v25.3 Full Support for Dual/Quad Core + HardwareMonitor v4.3.1.2) instead of 8 Orthos instances. Have you tried undervolting the CPUs?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual CPU Thread MarshallX Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 50 February 2, 2010 10:48 PM
Dual boot question SpateD O/S's, Drivers & General Software 17 March 8, 2008 05:11 PM
Dual or Quad?? BALISTX CPU's and Motherboards 4 November 22, 2007 12:36 AM
dual boot how to ? Jim Storage 18 August 11, 2007 05:45 PM
Dual monitor problems ragenrok Video Cards 4 May 4, 2007 11:34 AM