Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2010, 10:37 PM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 12
Default Some new toys, some questions

I am upgrading my tj07 case to the MM Ascension, which I got the case from Lima here(good person to dealt with btw). I do have some questions here and I wish fellow canucks can help me out here.
Here is what I currently have right now (some new and some is currently using)

2 MCP655
1 Swiftech XT
3 Thermochill PA120.3
1 EK X58 Classified full size block
2 EK tops for MCP655
13 Gentle typhoon 1850 fans
1 Frozen Q Red Classified res

I want to know if the 1 MCP655 with ek top good enough to run 2 PA120.3, swiftech xt and the ek x58 classified block?

If so, I can make one more loop for my GTX480

the CPU loop will be res>pump>pa120.3*2>swiftech XT> EK x58 block <--Will one MCP655 with top handle it no problem?

If so, I can go to daz and place and order on the ek 480block with back plate
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2010, 11:19 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,091

My System Specs

Default

You should be fine with that CPU/mobo loop, although 2 PA120.3 rads is overkill. I've got one Feser 360 with a MCP655, Heatkiller, X58 block and an EK block on my 470, and temps are fine.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2010, 06:16 AM
kruzn4evr's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Posts: 1,801

My System Specs

Default

+1 ^^ Sugar is right, you really only need one 120.3 for the CPU/mobo, I use a mcr220 with push/pull for CPU/mobo and it does a great job all things considered, a single 120.3 will be more than enough.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2010, 06:27 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

yes it is but a single triple should work fine
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2010, 11:38 AM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 12
Default

I know it overkill but I want to make use of the parts I have.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2010, 12:17 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Yeah, nothing wrong with using just one pump there. And as for running two rads, just look at it as an opportunity to run slower fans without losing rad performance.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2010, 08:12 PM
Lima's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Laval, Qc
Posts: 588

My System Specs

Default

Reminds me of my set-up. I had 1 MCP655 pumping water through 2 PA 120.3's, a CPU block, nb block and FC gpu block. It did it without a problem.

I am glad you're enjoying the case.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two New "Toys" (Pics: 1024x768) AmuseMe Off Topic 15 April 7, 2010 11:38 PM
Unauthorized Playing With Toys? fefox Off Topic 1 June 19, 2009 04:33 PM
One of my new toys mklym Mobile Computing 5 January 16, 2009 09:41 PM
Eagle Eye's new toys Eagle Eye Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 19 November 6, 2008 08:38 AM
Some questions about F@H qwerty HardwareCanucks F@H Team 4 October 16, 2007 06:45 PM