Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2010, 10:08 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default Pump/Res mounting ideas

Hi Guys,

This is a link to my previous setup I had.

http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...mg_0016-1-.jpg

Hardware is the same, I need help re-positioning the Res, where it is right now, it a lot harder taking the video card out. I was first thinking of putting the res in one of the drive bays, and using the fill-port hole on the HAF. It's not shown in the pic, but I had another piece of tubing attached to the bottom of the res, with the fill-port attached to that tubing for draining purposes.

Does that loop look right, including the way the cpu block is mounted and inlet/outlet. It's an Apogee GTZ
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2010, 01:36 PM
dustin1706's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 629

My System Specs

Default

Can you put it right beside the pump? Just put something under it so that the pump inlet is even with the res port and then just use a very short piece of tubing?

I can't see anything wrong with the setup.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2010, 01:11 PM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1
Default

Perhaps you could place it on the 120mm fan using brackets?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2010, 01:20 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

Here is my similar setup in a Haf:
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2010, 03:34 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Yeah I would put it just above the pump like chris
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2010, 04:29 PM
JayDeeHobbit's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 387

My System Specs

Default

Looks like you have room up top - that's where I put it in my Armor case and it worked great for me.
Attached Images
 
__________________
"Try looking into that place where you dare not look!
You'll find me there, staring out at you!" - Frank Herbert
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2010, 11:27 AM
Jokester's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lynn Valley
Posts: 27

My System Specs

Default

His rad is up top, I would get an ek res and do similar setup as Chris did. Or is there enough room in the drive bay ?
__________________
Techead in mind, body and soul

Lian Dream: i7 2600k @ 5.1Ghz, Asus Maximus IV Gene-z, MSI N680GTX Twin Frozr II,8GB 2x4GB Mushkin Ridgeback, Crucial M4 128GB x2, Plextor PX-755SA, Seasonic 750, Lian-li
HTPC: E5300@3.6ghz, Asus P5Q Pro Turbo, Gigabyte 7600GT, Mushkin redline 1GBx2, 2x 500gb Maxtor Raid 1, 300gb Seagate, 74gb Raptor, PC P&C 510, Silverstone LC16m
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2010, 06:05 PM
bkh2's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 265

My System Specs

Default

If you flip the rad around, it might work out better. Here's how I set mine up:

http://www.sfu.ca/~bkh2/Comp/P8300091.JPG
http://www.sfu.ca/~bkh2/Comp/P8300094.JPG
http://www.sfu.ca/~bkh2/Comp/P8300095.JPG

From the first pic, you can kind of see that the tube quite long and wraps around the fan. This allows a lot of excess tubing so the graphic card can be taken out easily. I actually recently changed my loop to this configuration because I had trouble taking out/adding graphic cards. The res is attached by one screw, through the motherboard. In fact, the threading on the screws that come with the reservoir match the threading in the motherboard, so no modification is required.

Also, the pump isn't attached in any way; it's free floating. This isolates the pump from everything so it's quite quiet. In addition, the pump can be bent towards you (out of page) which allows even more slack for the tube in front of the graphic card. This configuration only occupies the top 5.25 bay, leaving the 5 others completely free.

Edit: Just for reference, this was my old configuration: http://www.sfu.ca/~bkh2/Comp/P2150136.JPG
Notice how close the tube going from the res to pump is to the graphic card. This issue is also minimized by having a free floating pump.

Last edited by bkh2; August 30, 2010 at 06:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2010, 05:30 AM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default

what ChrisK posted - I think I stole his idea for my loop to. Well.. not "stole" so much "borrowed" and give him credit for inspiring the setup.
It's the cleanest I can think of, and makes it easy to watercool your GPU in the future.
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First time WC setup! Rad mounting ideas? tragd Water Cooling 11 August 17, 2010 02:57 PM
Where to buy XSPC 5.25 Bay Dual Res, Dual DDC Pump Kartner Water Cooling 11 July 1, 2010 09:14 AM
[WTB] Pump/Res/Rad kruzn4evr Buy/Sell & Trade 4 April 23, 2010 08:30 AM
[WTB] WC Gear Rad / pump / res / cpu water block anabioz Buy/Sell & Trade 8 December 17, 2009 03:33 PM
[WTB] WC parts (pump, res, tubing, chipset block and 4850 compatible GPU block) donimo Buy/Sell & Trade 5 February 2, 2009 11:53 AM