Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2010, 09:17 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 589
Default Questions before I start!

First off, big thanks to DazMode for a quick, hassle free and pleasant experience shopping at his store. I'll buy from him again for sure! Canada Best Water Cooling Store !

Ok got all the pieces but from reading around I know there's some things I should do with brand new components such as flushing the rad, but I try to look for guides, but everything I find is dated and it was mostly hand made back then.

Any good recent guides out there?

I know I'll flush the rad with regular water, than I read that I should do it once with distilled water before I install it? What else is good to do?

So excited to start, and man EK products are pretty

Thanks guys!
__________________
http://www.thecomputermadesimple.com | The computer world in plain English!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2010, 09:31 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,531

My System Specs

Default

Flush everything out to ensure that there are no metal filings in the loop, then plan/build your loop. Measure tubing twice, cut once.

Many folks prefer to build outside of the case first to test for leaks, but AFAIC you'll still have to leaktest once it's installed so you might as well do it in situ right off of the bat. I personally add an extra 1" to each of my tubing lengths, and then trim to the best fit once it's all together.

Once you've got the loop installed, either use a second PSU (shorted between green/black pins) to fill your loop / leaktest, or disconnect all but a couple of fans from your main PSU, short it, and then fill/leaktest your loop.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2010, 10:27 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,085

My System Specs

Default

Yup, EK blocks are very nice, and Daz is great to deal with.

I actually use boiling/just boiled water to flush rads. But be careful, they get bloody hot when you do that. I'll actually disassemble blocks to check that they are clean, but EK seals them with a warranty sticker to prevent you doing that.

Take your time, and if it's your first loop, leaktest for at least 12 hours, preferably 24.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2010, 10:30 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

+1 to Sswilson.. never know what kind of crap Daz puts in his stuff :p..

Yes you do want to have somethings connected so that the psu has some sort of load in it, at least my 1KW PSU does, it just will not start with even couple fans, needs some serious load..

Flush the rad with hot water, usually works out great.. You always wanna decide where you want parts to be placed, especially pump and res, unless off course you have a res/pump combo, that's to save tubing, you will feel very frustrated when you've done the loop and then figured it ain't gonna work, or something is not routed properly and then you have to re-do the loop.

edit: Ninja'ed by Sugar.. damn
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2010, 10:34 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 589
Default

Ok I'll use boiling/hot water to flush it all!

So I was thinking res > pump > rad > CPU > GPU > res

Makes sense?
Attached Images
 
__________________
http://www.thecomputermadesimple.com | The computer world in plain English!

Last edited by ADay2Long; August 10, 2010 at 10:41 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2010, 10:46 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,085

My System Specs

Default

Loop order really doesn't make a more that a degree difference in temps. Whatever makes the tubing runs easier usually works. As long as your res is higher than your pump, you'll be fine.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2010, 10:54 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Again ninja'ed.. I sort of trying to mean what Sugar said, more trying to say have the parts properly so you don't have to use a lot of 45/90 degree angled fittings or bend the tube enough to cause kinks.

Why did you get a bay res.. I find them hard to bleed, re-fill fluid.. :p
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2010, 11:20 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 589
Default

Cause they look cool

Again this is my first attempt at W/C so who knows maybe in 6 months when comes clean up time I'll get frustrated and buy a non-bay res.
__________________
http://www.thecomputermadesimple.com | The computer world in plain English!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2010, 11:40 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,531

My System Specs

Default

Heh..... Personally, next full case install I decide to do will probably have a T junction fill port acting as res......
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2010, 06:21 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 589
Default

Should my fans pull or push?
__________________
http://www.thecomputermadesimple.com | The computer world in plain English!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Start FAH, Stop FAH, Start FAH, FREEZE! frontier204 Troubleshooting 5 June 23, 2013 09:02 AM
So..where do i start..? emxc2 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 9 September 5, 2009 09:57 PM
A few last questions before I start up... Barber Water Cooling 26 March 23, 2009 10:14 AM
About to start RainMaker New Builds 5 January 16, 2009 12:02 PM
Pc Start up Problem JuggsJr Troubleshooting 5 November 26, 2007 07:04 PM