Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2010, 06:31 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,071

My System Specs

Default

In my experience, push/pull>push>pull. Most fans are better pushing air through the rad than trying to pull it through. This can change with rad density and fan design though.

In my loop (feser 360, Heatkiller, EK GPU, 655 pump, Scythe S-Flex G fans) there was a difference in max core temp of about 5 degrees.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2010, 10:59 PM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,590

My System Specs

Default

IIRC push or pull do not make that significant of a different in temps. There's going to be a change of ~1 C maximum.

In my experience pull is the better choice because it actually creates a negative pressure zone behind it to pull air through that minimizes the fan's "dead zone".

However when it comes to reality, it really doesn't matter that much
__________________
Iapetos
Intel Core i7 930 D0 4.2ghz, Corsair XMS3 6X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24, Xfire HD5870, Intel X-25M 34nm 80gb, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050W, Xonar D2X

Zephyranthes
E8400 4.0ghz, XFX 780i, Mushkin XP2 PC-6400, Antec Earthwatts 750W

Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2010, 05:59 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,879

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackquelegs View Post
IIRC push or pull do not make that significant of a different in temps. There's going to be a change of ~1 C maximum.

In my experience pull is the better choice because it actually creates a negative pressure zone behind it to pull air through that minimizes the fan's "dead zone".

However when it comes to reality, it really doesn't matter that much
+1 typically why most suggest pull. I've ran mine in pull since day one.

Though I would of suggested you bought a bayres that supports a direct pump connection. Would of saved you space and simplified tubing.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2010, 08:59 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 589
Default

I'll be using S-FLEX fans, so they should be able to pull fairly well, maybe it will come down to wire length to reach my fan controller.

Space is not an issue for the res area.

Now if only my windowed side panel could be back in stock....
__________________
http://www.thecomputermadesimple.com | The computer world in plain English!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2010, 09:12 AM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,590

My System Specs

Default

Using pull also allows you to use only 1 set of screws to mount the rad Economic
__________________
Iapetos
Intel Core i7 930 D0 4.2ghz, Corsair XMS3 6X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24, Xfire HD5870, Intel X-25M 34nm 80gb, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050W, Xonar D2X

Zephyranthes
E8400 4.0ghz, XFX 780i, Mushkin XP2 PC-6400, Antec Earthwatts 750W

Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2010, 09:50 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
In my experience, push/pull>push>pull. Most fans are better pushing air through the rad than trying to pull it through. This can change with rad density and fan design though.

In my loop (feser 360, Heatkiller, EK GPU, 655 pump, Scythe S-Flex G fans) there was a difference in max core temp of about 5 degrees.
+1 to Sugar, I also agree with Jacque..

Although, I've also had more luck pushing air through rad than pulling, usually I position my rads on the exhaust side, like based on the pic you provided, you want your rad to located inside the case, so I would have the fans under the rad pushing air through the rad to outside.. Push/pull would def. work in your case, chances are you aren't going to see much of a difference and you need more fans..
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2010, 01:41 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 589
Default

I just flushed the whole system and I can't remember the last time I was this excited about something new!

Anyone adventurous enough to use barbs without clamps? While flushing everything seemed to hold just fine without any zip ties and what not.
__________________
http://www.thecomputermadesimple.com | The computer world in plain English!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2010, 01:59 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Depends on tubing and barb, something like 1/2" tubing and 1/2" barb requires barbs or zip ties, but something. 7/16" tubing goes nuts on 1/2" barbs, you have to cut off the tubing to take it off. 3/8" tubing on 1/2" barbs, I have never tried that.

Did you jinx ur pants in excitement lol.. Watercooling is pron for us.. :D
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old August 12, 2010, 06:20 PM
Dazmode's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,688
Default

For mid-rage fans around 1600-1800 rpm - push or pull is the same thing. I use pull myself.

P.S. Thanks for kind words. :)
__________________
Venom Build: Caselabs SMH10, 3930k, 2x GTX680, MSI BigBangII, 8x Dominators, 2 x D5 , Quad Rad, Adaptec 7805, 4x WD Red, 2x Intel 510, Aquaero 5, 11x GT
Silent Sniper Build: Final Video, XSPC H1 Cube case, Supreme HF, 2xGTX470, GA G1 Sniper, Dominators, 2x Triple rad, Triebwerk Fans, 2x D5, Custom Sleeving
Orange Build: Final Video
HTPC Build: Final Video
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2010, 11:11 PM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,586
Default

I only use 3/8" x 5/8" tubing on 1/2" barbs. Also need to cut it off to remove.
__________________
DEAD CA$H
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Start FAH, Stop FAH, Start FAH, FREEZE! frontier204 Troubleshooting 5 June 23, 2013 09:02 AM
So..where do i start..? emxc2 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 9 September 5, 2009 09:57 PM
A few last questions before I start up... Barber Water Cooling 26 March 23, 2009 10:14 AM
About to start RainMaker New Builds 5 January 16, 2009 12:02 PM
Pc Start up Problem JuggsJr Troubleshooting 5 November 26, 2007 07:04 PM