Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2007, 04:34 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 33
Default Sleep & Hibernation mode danger for water pcs?

I have a real simply question reguarding the Windows <sleep mode> or the <Hibernate> mode.

Since this does stop the pump and everything does the CPU still continue to procude heat making sleep/Hibernate mode dangerous for water cooled setups?

Or does it stop providing volts to the cpu/video cards and only wait for a input on the keyboard?

Thanks never could find the answer on this hopefully someone knows if it's ok to sleep/hibernate watercool pc's.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2007, 05:12 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is online now
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,951

My System Specs

Default

Hibernate should be fine as that shutting the power off basically. It saves the RAM to the hard drive and powers off. When you turn it back on, it loads the data back into the RAM and puts you back where you were.

Sleep, it depends which mode. S1 I believe leaves power running along with all your fans and stuff so I'd assume the pump would still run. In S3 mode, all the power seems to go off but maybe a low voltage still exists to keep the RAM alive, but I don't think the CPU/GPU run though.

I don't know for sure though so don't take my word for it. Pretty sure about the hibernate though.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2007, 05:26 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,755
Default

Mine sleeps, watercooled, and everything turns off. It's safe. Intel designed it so that it does not produce heat, otherwise they would be basicly be killing their CPU's slowly....Actually, sounds like something Intel would do....Design them to die in 3.5 years, right after warranty is gone haha.
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2007, 06:58 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 33
Default

Thanks for the answer guys! This is good news!

I will have to check what mode the sleep is in the bios.
I guess it is where Il find that kind of information

thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2007, 07:04 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is online now
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,951

My System Specs

Default

Yeah you can pick the sleep mode in the BIOS. Hibernate is a part of Windows.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
X-fi Mode changer app Now compatible with Prelude Robscix Audio 0 November 13, 2007 12:42 PM
synchronous mode on P35-DQ6 vukdusan CPU's and Motherboards 1 August 15, 2007 02:02 PM
Danger Den Water Box Plus Case review by Club OC Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 April 11, 2007 06:18 AM
TheTechLounge reviews Linksys iPhone CIT300 dual-mode Internet telephony kit Supergrover Reviews & Articles from the Web 2 January 22, 2007 04:29 PM