Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2010, 03:56 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3
Default Single loop query

Hey guys hoping you can help me out. In the next few weeks I'll be starting a build on a midi watercooled case. I'm going to be cooling an AMD processor probably an X2 and two 5850's in crossfire. Would it be alright to run them all of a 560 rad (external) ie: rad - pump - cpu - gpu - gpu. I realise thats going to be quite a bit of heat going to the second 5850 but just thought id ask to see if its possible. I have no problems doing a dual loop if nessacary though for the sake of less hoses i was hoping a single loop would suffice. Any help you could provide would be appreciated though.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2010, 04:01 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,640

My System Specs

Default

What rad are you considering? You wrote "560", did you perhaps mean "360"?

A 3X120mm rad should be sufficent for cooling all of that, and as far as the "single loop" goes, most testing I've seen has shown that there is very little varience in temperatures between different points in a single closed loop once it's up and running.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2010, 04:14 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Hey thanks for the reply and no i did mean 560mm ie 140mmx4 rad likely to be Phobya G-changer. So theres no issues with runnning the three in serial then? If so thats good news.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2010, 04:21 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,640

My System Specs

Default

Nope, shouldn't be a problem. As I said... most of what I've seen suggests that the temperature at different points in a closed loop will all tend to be pretty close to each other.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2010, 04:37 PM
Liu Kang's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 472
Default

A loop should always start with reservoir to pump, a pump has to have a constant feed of water or it'll die. Going Rad - Pump like you indicated is innefficient and ill-advised.

Reservoir > Pump > Rad > CPU > GPU > GPU > Reservoir/Repeat

Multiple loops are ideal when it comes to maintenance and upgrades... they don't really have a huge effect on temps. Like sswilson said, water temps won't very much throughout a closed loop.
__________________
LK

WORK KANG: Silverstone SG03 | EVGA x58 Micro w/ 920 @ 4.2Ghz | Sapphire 5970 | 12GB Dominator DDR3-2000 | 240GB Revodrive X2 | SilverStone ST650F
MINI KANG: BitFenix Prodigy | Asus P8Z77i Deluxe mITX w/ 2600K @ 4.5Ghz | EVGA GTX 680 2GB | 8GB Vengeance DDR3-1866 | 2x Intel 160GB SSD | Corsair AX650
KANGZILLA: Custom MM Ascension | SR-2 | 2x X5650 | 2x SilverStone ST1000F | 2x Intel 160GB SSD | 15x 120mm rads | Under construction...

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2010, 01:40 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for the replys forgot to mention I'll be using an EK pump which has a small resevoir on the top of it.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2010, 04:59 PM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,587
Default

Why not get the Hardware Labs Black Ice 560. Thats a 560 rad if I ever saw one.
__________________
DEAD CA$H
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
External HD Query rjbarker Storage 3 February 4, 2010 02:55 PM
Network Switch(es) Query Shftup Storage 7 January 15, 2010 04:23 PM
Need help with my dual rad in a single loop jusdrink Water Cooling 33 June 20, 2009 03:43 AM
Fallout 3 AA and AF Sampling Query rjbarker Gaming 8 December 24, 2008 11:55 AM
QX9650 Query.. rjbarker CPU's and Motherboards 11 December 6, 2008 06:29 AM