Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 23, 2007, 06:47 AM
Synth's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa-Hull
Posts: 688
Default Plugging a pump to a mobo header ...?

Would anybody advise against plugging a pump on a motherboard header? The pump in question is a DD CPX1 ...

Trying to tweak my cable management before leak testing !
__________________


Last edited by Synth; November 23, 2007 at 12:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 23, 2007, 11:34 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

Totally. You would pull way too many amps through the thin mobo traces.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 23, 2007, 01:02 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

That pump actually comes with a mobo header plug, if the pictures are any indication. It only pulls 6W (0.5 A), so I would think it would be doable. Heck, looking at one of my YL SL fans, they're rated to pull 0.30 A, and they're only rated at 1350 rpm.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 23, 2007, 06:15 PM
Misoprostol
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

That pump is fine through a mobo header, but there aren't any other ones that I would recommend doing that with.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 23, 2007, 06:35 PM
chibi_man's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Courtice, Ontario
Posts: 494

My System Specs

Default

Yea. Those pumps require very little. Hell some fans have been said to pull more. I had a DD Mag2 hooked up, runs perfect and even can see the RPM on PC Probe as if it was a fan.
__________________
_____________________________________
If you can't beat it... SMASH IT!!!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 23, 2007, 09:01 PM
Synth's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa-Hull
Posts: 688
Default

Alright, I'll try it out and hope for the best. Simplifies my cable management ...
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 23, 2007, 10:08 PM
chibi_man's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Courtice, Ontario
Posts: 494

My System Specs

Default

On a side note. I prefer to use the motherboard to power it. Gives me some reassurance that the pump will always be on when I turn the bloody thing on. It's like a cooling nightmare for me.
__________________
_____________________________________
If you can't beat it... SMASH IT!!!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2007, 10:57 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

I just enable cpu overheat protection in the bios and don't sweat it. I also have pc probe running with overheat alarms set.

You should probably disable any fan speed controllers you may have in the bios or windows. the lower voltages that spin your fans down under light loads may not be enough to run the pump at all.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: pump (for watercooling) elninio Buy/Sell & Trade 8 March 17, 2008 12:47 PM
Pump Question lcdguy Water Cooling 10 February 19, 2008 07:58 PM
WTB: Danger Den Mag 2 pump chibi_man Buy/Sell & Trade 0 February 4, 2008 08:34 AM
Pump Vibrations. chibi_man Water Cooling 6 September 25, 2007 01:56 PM