Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2010, 05:17 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 75
Default loop and or pump question

i have a large loop planned and i was thinking of possibly adding 2 pumps for it im using dual 5.25 xspc resivour with mcp 355's installed internally.

here the loop: res - mcp 355 - koolance ram 33 - koolance ram 33 - koolance ram 33 - ek x58 evga classified waterblock - black ice sr1 480 rad - gtx 480 - gtx 40 - (mcp 350?) - black ice sr1 240 - res.

i was originally planning on makeing 3 loops but space is getting tight and i might not have room for another resivour so im wondering if this set up will work well or not? and also if the 350/355 could handle it or if i would have to go 655? and lastly can / should i put a 355 and a 350 in the same loop or would it mess with the flows to much? only reason i want a 350 there is because it would be outside of the resivour and the 355 can be alittle noisy.

o and 1 more thing, what is everyones thoughts on 1/2in vs 3/8in tubing? does 1/2 really make that much more of a difference and is 3/8 more flexible and easier to work with?

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2010, 05:47 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

-You've got plenty of pumping power. Honestly, even a single 355 would be fine. An extra pump will give you redundancy and maybe a degree or two at most, but it's not going to work miracles.
-Generally not a good idea to mix pumps with significantly different pumping curves, and the 350 and 355 are quite different in their performance curves. If you're marginally handy with a soldering iron, one can be turned into the other, remember.
-The benefits of multiple loops are grossly overstated, and 90% water-peen, so I wouldn't worry about having fewer loops.
-Memory cooling? If you want, but it accomplishes nothing, while adding cost, complexity, and restriction to the loop.
-Very little performance loss from using 3/8 tubing instead of 1/2", and yes, it's much easier to route inside a case.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2010, 05:49 PM
bkh2's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 265

My System Specs

Default

Tubing size has been shown to have minimal impact. I prefer 1/2" because it looks cooler. I think 3/8" would be easier to work with, since it won't kink as easily. However, if you use those anti-kink coils, it shouldn't matter too much.

I'll let someone with a more complex loop than a single CPU loop (like me) help you on the pump question. I'm still pretty noob in the W/C shenanigans.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2010, 06:02 PM
Keltron 3030's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mt. Pearl, Newfoundland
Posts: 621

My System Specs

Default

No need for RAM blocks. Not now, not ever! They really restrict flow on your loop.

Also, what kind of case are you putting this in?
__________________
FFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUU-
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2010, 06:22 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 75
Default

its all goin into an 800d and its all internal there also a seperate loop with a black ice 360 stealth for just the cpu its gonna be a tight fit but im pretty sure i can do it while still keeping the case looking sexy. thanks for the info ill be ordering everything within the week so any info helps and as for the ram blocks i know there not that usefull but for an extra 100 bucks i can have everything underwater and they do look pretty cool. but i guess i could can them and just use the one 355 pump and ill probly go 3/8 tubing on everything if the performance is similar it will save me alot of hassle cuz this thing is gonna be tight.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2010, 07:48 PM
Liu Kang's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 472
Default

I'm confused by your loop and your questions... I don't see any CPU/GPUs? You are concerned about a 355/350 setup and flow but are looking to run RAM blocks which are extremely restrictive? You are looking at running 3 loops, but I only see one loop outlined?

Keep in mind that every loop needs to be CLOSED -- in other words, each loop should have it's own pump, res, rad and block(s). Shared reservoirs and "split" tubing are huge no-nos.

I think we need to start over... list your parts and we can probably come up with a few design ideas that will give you the best performance and bang for your buck.

Cheers.
__________________
LK

WORK KANG: Silverstone SG03 | EVGA x58 Micro w/ 920 @ 4.2Ghz | Sapphire 5970 | 12GB Dominator DDR3-2000 | 240GB Revodrive X2 | SilverStone ST650F
MINI KANG: BitFenix Prodigy | Asus P8Z77i Deluxe mITX w/ 2600K @ 4.5Ghz | EVGA GTX 680 2GB | 8GB Vengeance DDR3-1866 | 2x Intel 160GB SSD | Corsair AX650
KANGZILLA: Custom MM Ascension | SR-2 | 2x X5650 | 2x SilverStone ST1000F | 2x Intel 160GB SSD | 15x 120mm rads | Under construction...

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding pump question bolweval Water Cooling 7 September 24, 2009 12:19 AM
Loop routing question miggs78 Water Cooling 41 September 20, 2009 10:15 PM
enough pump for full loop. kyle_L Water Cooling 5 February 27, 2009 10:04 AM
quick question regarding loop routing donimo Water Cooling 11 February 14, 2009 11:36 AM
Pump Question lcdguy Water Cooling 10 February 19, 2008 08:58 PM