Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2010, 04:34 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 75
Default xspc dual bay dual ddc pump resivour

XSPC Dual 5.25" Bay - DDC Dual Pump / Dual Split Reservoirs w/ Blue LED Light - Clear (DDCBAYTWO) - FrozenCPU.com

this resivour is suposed to work pretty well it dampens any noise from the pumps and cleans up and simplifys your loops. only thing im worried about is its pump compatibility. its says mcp 350/355 and laing ddc pumps only i was just wondering how these pumps perform compared to the swiftech mcp655 w speed control wich i was originally planning on buying. i want to run 2 loops.

loop 1:
cooling cpu and motherboard
res - to - pump - to - ek x58 classidied full covage - to - 360 feser rad - to - heatkiller 3.0 - to -res.

loop2:
cooling 2x gtx 480's
res - to - pump - to - ek 480 wb - to - ek 480 wb - to - 480 feser rad - to - res

would i be better off going with 2x mcp 655 or could i get similar performace with the res / 355 combo?
thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2010, 05:50 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,141
Default

In very restrictive loops, the 355 has a slight edge over the 655, in free-flowing loops, the 655 wins out. But the difference between the two is going to be extremely small either way. All else equal, the bay reservoir with the 355's will require less space, and the pumps will dump a little less heat into the loop. The only disadvantage is that you won't have the speed control.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2010, 07:30 PM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,586
Default

I would personally get two MCP355 with aftermarket tops. I would only ever use a bay resivoir if I absolutley needed the space, but Im not going to be using a case to watercool that would need for me to use one Bay resivoirs are asking for trouble. Its a ticking timebomb waiting for the glue (most acrylic bay res' have glue) to weaken and leak.
__________________
DEAD CA$H
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2010, 08:11 PM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 41

My System Specs

Default

Couldn't be happier, especially with the tubing and space management.
http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...-ultimate.html
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2010, 08:44 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,870

My System Specs

Default

I have the original model, dual pumps but no divider. It's worked great thus far and expect it to last for many years to come.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2010, 12:35 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 75
Default

my loops are all internal in a 800d case so there gonna be really tight. i just need to know if the 355 pumps will have enough volume and pressure output to power my loops. cuz if i can use them instead of two seperate 655 pumps itll make this build alot easier.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2010, 07:47 AM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 41

My System Specs

Default

Your loops are quite similar to mine, two 355 will be more than enough to loop those components.
However I do recommend putting CPU block before the MB block (coolest water to CPU first) and perhaps using 480 rad for CPU loop and 360 for the GPU loop.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2010, 10:27 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 75
Default

thats how i was intially going to set it up but the routing would be easier to put the cpu into the 360 rad instead of the 480. and i figured the amount of heat that 2x 480 are going to produce would need more than a 360 rad. im trying to keep everything around 30-40c range. ill be running a i7 920 d0 at round 4ghz oc for my cpu. im new to watercooling so correct me if im wrong.

also the way i got the cpu loop set up: res - pump -mb - rad - cpu - res

the coldest water in that loop would be fresh out of the rad going to the cpu so i think it will work fine the only thing that might effect performance is the hot water coming from the cpu to the res might warm up the colder water on the otherside of the shared res in the gpu loop. thats my only concern

i dont have alot of room so im trying to keep my loops as compact and efficent as possible.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2010, 02:55 PM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 41

My System Specs

Default

That's what I thought too. But after I asked around, since both rads provide more than enough cooling for any loop it'd be wiser to put 480 with CPU. Apparently 480 Rad along can provide enough cooling for CPU, MB and 2 GPUs altogether.
This is what I have right now.

CPU loop (480 Rad)
Res - Pump - Rad - CPU - MB - Back to res
GPU loop (360 Rad)
Res - Pump - Rad - 5850#1 - 5850 #2 - Back to res

But you know, there isn't really rules written in stone for watercooling setup. You just want to keep the loop as short as possible.
Again 2 355 pumps are sufficient enough for your loops. Some would say it would be an overkill.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2010, 05:29 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 75
Default

alright thanks for the advice guys
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Laing DDC dual bay reservoir. Lima Water Cooling 0 February 12, 2010 12:11 PM
DD Dual bay res back in stock! Sniper Water Cooling 3 November 21, 2008 10:42 AM
Mediasonic Dual Bay Raid (HUR1-SU2FWB) jgerber Storage 4 November 7, 2008 11:29 AM
looking for XSPC Laing DDC cryptospartan Buy/Sell & Trade 0 May 25, 2008 08:33 PM