Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2010, 04:09 AM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default When should u change your loops liquid?

Have been using Swiftech's liquid with distilled water now since last July i believe. How often should i be changing the water? Cheers.
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2010, 06:19 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Acton, Ont
Posts: 878
Default

I change mine every 4 months, Needed or Not.

In the pre mixed set-ups, I think your safe for 6 months plus, Just keep an eye out for gunk in the lines and Res.


Distilled Water and PT nuke, Very easy to work with.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2010, 11:38 AM
Dazmode's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,695
Default

I change between 6 and 9 months. If I change color or brand I disassemble loop completely if I use same coolant mix I just give loop double or triple rinse with distilled water.
__________________
Venom Build: Caselabs SMH10, 3930k, 2x GTX680, MSI BigBangII, 8x Dominators, 2 x D5 , Quad Rad, Adaptec 7805, 4x WD Red, 2x Intel 510, Aquaero 5, 11x GT
Silent Sniper Build: Final Video, XSPC H1 Cube case, Supreme HF, 2xGTX470, GA G1 Sniper, Dominators, 2x Triple rad, Triebwerk Fans, 2x D5, Custom Sleeving
Orange Build: Final Video
HTPC Build: Final Video
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2010, 11:53 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

6 to 9 months for me too.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2010, 01:34 PM
HaDeS
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

is it a good idea to trim the water lines at the same time?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2010, 01:36 PM
Dazmode's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,695
Default

What do you mean?
__________________
Venom Build: Caselabs SMH10, 3930k, 2x GTX680, MSI BigBangII, 8x Dominators, 2 x D5 , Quad Rad, Adaptec 7805, 4x WD Red, 2x Intel 510, Aquaero 5, 11x GT
Silent Sniper Build: Final Video, XSPC H1 Cube case, Supreme HF, 2xGTX470, GA G1 Sniper, Dominators, 2x Triple rad, Triebwerk Fans, 2x D5, Custom Sleeving
Orange Build: Final Video
HTPC Build: Final Video
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2010, 01:48 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

if you mean replace, well i use thick wall tubing so i normally change it once a year but it's really up to you
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2010, 06:06 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

Well I find my PC doesn't stay on the same components for longer than 6 months

So it gets drained often enough.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2010, 06:09 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HaDeS View Post
is it a good idea to trim the water lines at the same time?
If you're talking about trimming the imprinted ends off the tubing, that's a judgment call. If I have tubing length to spare, I usually will, since I have a gut feeling that the clamping isn't as tight the second time around. But I very much doubt that it's necessary, as long as you go through the standard leak-testing after re-assembling everything.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2010, 06:11 PM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

yea theres no gunk or anything i guess ill be rinsing out with distilled water thanx guys.
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
anyone know of a Liquid acrylic filler? Shadowmeph O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 June 6, 2009 10:18 AM
Fruity Loops Studio Sounds shayan288 Off Topic 0 January 24, 2009 02:29 PM
Two Loops? Infiniti Water Cooling 10 June 16, 2008 09:32 AM
Suggested loops and Pump silverchair Water Cooling 6 February 23, 2008 09:17 AM
Fruit Loops r00tman CPU's and Motherboards 13 May 4, 2007 07:47 AM