Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old April 23, 2010, 07:39 PM
Rookie

Default What is the best water cooling liquid to use?

Hello
I was ordering some Coolermaster Aquagate NC-1 Liquid Coolant from NCIX.com as i have A Coolermaster Aquagate but it has been "unexpectedly discontinued" and now i am not sure what liquid coolant would be the best to use. I was thinking Primochill PC Ice NON-CONDUCTIVE Water Replacement 32OZ - Clear , but i am really unsure what would be the best.
Here is what is in my loop

Swiftech APOGEE GTZ LGA775 CPU Water Block
Primochill Primoflex Pro LRT UV Blue tubing
Coolermaster Aquagate ALC-U01 LCU

Other components
Q9550
Asus P5K64 ws mobo
Stacker STC-T01 case

In addition to this i have two other questions
Would there be a benefit to mounting my board upside down?
and
The tubing is 3/8 diameter while the quick connects on the Aquagate is 1/4 diameter
Will i notice any performance decrease?

Thanks
Old April 23, 2010, 07:49 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

Distilled water and a silver ciol.
Old April 23, 2010, 07:56 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

Last I read (which was a long time ago) is that there is (among the better fluids) little enough of a difference to be considered negligible. AFAIK straight up water is the best performance wise, but it's not available in pretty colours and is conducive to algae growth. But you can get additives to remedy both of those. If you do't want to be bothered with making your own concoction then buy a bottle of whatever 'look nice' and never mind the "non conductive" babble unless you're submersing your system in it. Or you could go to crappy tire and but some glycol (mix it 15%) and have enough to last the next 10 years for probably less than $10... if you like green.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Butkick View Post
Would there be a benefit to mounting my board upside down?
No