Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #61 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2010, 03:30 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 381
Default

Alright guys, thank you for your help. Here is the steps that I took:

Moved reservoir back to where it was (lower then the pump). Took off the cpu heatsink (shook it for about 20 seconds), installed it back - loaded OS and BOOM!

Full load @ 74C.

But still... WTF?!
__________________
heat

rfd

hofo
Reply With Quote
  #62 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2010, 03:35 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,141
Default

Just to reinterate what some people have already said - pump position (relative to reservoir) doesn't matter once the loop has been primed. Yes, pumps can't pull air, but once a loop is bled (i.e. solid fluid), the loop basically works like a siphon, the pumped fluid effectively pulling more fluid behind it (similar to how a siphon works). Because of this, pumping losses due to gravity in a bled/fluid closed loop are net-sum-zero, with the rises canceling out the drops.

I would like to repeat, especially now that I've seen your board - some Gigabyte boards are definitely known for component interference with some waterblocks, so it wouldn't be the first time. And I notice that your reservoir is directly attached to the waterblock, and that moving it up would alter the mounting pressure on the CPU block. It wouldn't matter much with a proper mount, but you were suffering from poor mounting pressure, it would definitely make a difference.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #63 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2010, 03:38 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 381
Default

My motherboard is Biostar Tpower i55 :)
__________________
heat

rfd

hofo
Reply With Quote
  #64 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2010, 03:43 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,141
Default

My bad, saw the colour-scheme and assumed. Although I'm still placing some faith in my reservoir-CPU block connection theory, which is something I've had happen to me before.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #65 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2010, 03:58 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 381
Default

Very possible, but so far so good :)
__________________
heat

rfd

hofo
Reply With Quote
  #66 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2010, 04:15 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,917
Default Burp that baby

Quote:
Originally Posted by anabioz View Post
Very possible, but so far so good :)
i see your problem is not enough fluid in loop an air pockets

remount this time turn so you read HK upside down

ok un-mount rez so you can lay your system on its MB backside down

place towels to catch spillage while you fill rez with only pump running on #1 setting

IMHO have the rez above rad.....if fart in a pool what way bubbles travel
Reply With Quote
  #67 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2010, 04:39 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 381
Default

thank you.
__________________
heat

rfd

hofo
Reply With Quote
  #68 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2010, 04:52 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,917
Default

oh forgot to ask about your barbs.......the distance from the 0-ring inwards to block .....how far in the hole does it go......it shouldnt go past block threads
Reply With Quote
  #69 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2010, 05:16 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 381
Default

It does not.

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post
oh forgot to ask about your barbs.......the distance from the 0-ring inwards to block .....how far in the hole does it go......it shouldnt go past block threads
__________________
heat

rfd

hofo
Reply With Quote
  #70 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2010, 09:31 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 167
Default

74C is starting to become acceptable... I'd return the overclock back to stock, then test full load temperatures. If they're in the 40s then I think you've solved your problem.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HeatKiller 3.0 Mounting? AmuseMe Water Cooling 12 October 11, 2010 09:21 PM
Heatkiller 3.0 Apollo4g Water Cooling 88 January 30, 2010 03:21 AM
Where to BUY HeatKiller Products??? Chromey Water Cooling 11 January 25, 2010 09:27 PM
Heatkiller D5 Pump Top Technokat Water Cooling 7 January 18, 2010 06:07 PM
Heatkiller + Backplate JD Water Cooling 5 January 3, 2010 07:12 PM