Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2010, 10:17 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London
Posts: 219
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
Not exactly true. The is only true for priming the pump. If the loop has been bled and primed properly the pump does not need to be lower than the reservoir.
I agree, once the loop has been bled, there is no problem with the pump starving for coolant.
__________________
Ivy Bridge 3770K @ 5.0 Ghz
Asus P8Z77 WS
16GB Gskil DDR3-2400
Xfx R9 290X (x2) Sapphire Tri-X 290X 6048x1200/2560x1440 @120Hz| Dell 2709W (left/right) Yamakasi Q270 Catleap 2b 120hz version (center)
OCZ Vertex 3 (x2) Raid 0 480Gb - Windows 8.1 PRO (windows 7 mockup)
Corsair Obsidian 800D | Seasonic X-1250
HeatKiller 3.0 | EK R9 290x WB (x3) | TFC Exchanger Quad Rad |Thermochill PA120.3 rad|TFC Dual rad Scythe Gentle Typhoon (x9) |Swiftech MCP655 (x2) | EK drive bay Res.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2010, 10:17 AM
shaw
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
Not exactly true. The is only true for priming the pump. If the loop has been bled and primed properly the pump does not need to be lower than the reservoir.
Then in his case I'm correct, since the reservoir is already attached to the case. If he starts his rig, then the pump is not primed.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2010, 10:20 AM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,587
Default

Apply more pressure to the block, my guess is that it isnt tight enough to the CPU to transfer the heat.
__________________
DEAD CA$H
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2010, 10:28 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London
Posts: 219
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shaw View Post
Then in his case I'm correct, since the reservoir is already attached to the case. If he starts his rig, then the pump is not primed.
If it was starving or not primed, you would hear it struggle with all the air bubbles trapped in it. Its noisy as hell.
And if the pump relies on gravity, why would you be able to mount a radiator above it as well through its outlet? If it has enough power to distribute coolant to the rad above it, it has enough power to take coolant from the res.
__________________
Ivy Bridge 3770K @ 5.0 Ghz
Asus P8Z77 WS
16GB Gskil DDR3-2400
Xfx R9 290X (x2) Sapphire Tri-X 290X 6048x1200/2560x1440 @120Hz| Dell 2709W (left/right) Yamakasi Q270 Catleap 2b 120hz version (center)
OCZ Vertex 3 (x2) Raid 0 480Gb - Windows 8.1 PRO (windows 7 mockup)
Corsair Obsidian 800D | Seasonic X-1250
HeatKiller 3.0 | EK R9 290x WB (x3) | TFC Exchanger Quad Rad |Thermochill PA120.3 rad|TFC Dual rad Scythe Gentle Typhoon (x9) |Swiftech MCP655 (x2) | EK drive bay Res.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2010, 10:34 AM
shaw
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Because it is fed with liquid from the res, and it can push that liquid towards the higher rad. But unless primed with a higher res, it cannot suck.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2010, 10:39 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 381
Default

Alright guys, I see the coolant move inside of the reservoir - that means the pump is pumping.

Reapplied the water block (now according to the manufacturer @ 18.7mm) and the thermal paste - so far max is still 87C.
__________________
heat

rfd

hofo
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2010, 10:42 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London
Posts: 219
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shaw View Post
Because it is fed with liquid from the res, and it can push that liquid towards the higher rad. But unless primed with a higher res, it cannot suck.
After 3 weeks of usage, I think the priming part and gravity is a moot point at this time. The pump would have died by now if not, Anabioz would posting a thread on why his pump is noisy instead of temps.
__________________
Ivy Bridge 3770K @ 5.0 Ghz
Asus P8Z77 WS
16GB Gskil DDR3-2400
Xfx R9 290X (x2) Sapphire Tri-X 290X 6048x1200/2560x1440 @120Hz| Dell 2709W (left/right) Yamakasi Q270 Catleap 2b 120hz version (center)
OCZ Vertex 3 (x2) Raid 0 480Gb - Windows 8.1 PRO (windows 7 mockup)
Corsair Obsidian 800D | Seasonic X-1250
HeatKiller 3.0 | EK R9 290x WB (x3) | TFC Exchanger Quad Rad |Thermochill PA120.3 rad|TFC Dual rad Scythe Gentle Typhoon (x9) |Swiftech MCP655 (x2) | EK drive bay Res.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2010, 10:42 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 381
Default

93C... Going to move reservoir higher then the pump I guess. I believe it won't make the difference. But if you guys tell me to. I will.
__________________
heat

rfd

hofo
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2010, 10:43 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 167
Default

Try tilting your entire case forward and holding it there for a few minutes, then monitor your temperatures.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2010, 10:45 AM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,590

My System Specs

Default

is the block/radiator warm at all?
__________________
Iapetos
Intel Core i7 930 D0 4.2ghz, Corsair XMS3 6X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24, Xfire HD5870, Intel X-25M 34nm 80gb, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050W, Xonar D2X

Zephyranthes
E8400 4.0ghz, XFX 780i, Mushkin XP2 PC-6400, Antec Earthwatts 750W

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HeatKiller 3.0 Mounting? AmuseMe Water Cooling 12 October 11, 2010 09:21 PM
Heatkiller 3.0 Apollo4g Water Cooling 88 January 30, 2010 03:21 AM
Where to BUY HeatKiller Products??? Chromey Water Cooling 11 January 25, 2010 09:27 PM
Heatkiller D5 Pump Top Technokat Water Cooling 7 January 18, 2010 06:07 PM
Heatkiller + Backplate JD Water Cooling 5 January 3, 2010 07:12 PM