Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2010, 07:00 AM
Sushi Warrior's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Grimsby, Ontario
Posts: 1,620

My System Specs

Default Double checking...

So, I am FINALLY ordering my loop. I'm going top be getting most of the stuff used.

MCP355 w/EK top (V2) for $60
EK Supreme LT w/ broken thread $10
EK Multi-option res 150 $40
Swiftech MCR220 $30
Bitspower 1/2" barb Matte black $20 (8)
Primochill Pro LRT White 3/8ID 10FT $10

Now I need an additive within Canada... DirectCanada is preferable but I guess I could make an order from Petra's or Sidewinders (they merged?) to get some PT Nuke and the res, barbs + tubing (going to be ordering those new).

For the block I will be getting a replacement top machined with custom text or something on the top.

So, any suggestions? Am I paying too much for anything?
__________________
||EK Supreme LT Nickel||MCP355/EK X-TOPV2||EK150 M-O res||MCR220/White||NZXT FN120RB/FN140RB||
Project|Oroborous by NZXT and MNPC
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2010, 08:32 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

As far as I know.. Linus mentioned somewhere that Primochill tubes have re-applied biocide. So with that said, straight distilled water should work, that's what I'm using with my Primochill 1/2" without an issue. Although ncix has this in the description:

Quote:
Our special Anti-Microbial formula helps keep your cooling loop pristine—which keeps flow rates up, reduces maintenance, and just flat out looks better.


10ft should be enough tubing, just thinking maybe you could get more. Also man, c'mon instead of ordering from the US.. Petra (I know they have top notch customer support) why not support Dazmode, based in Canada man..

Those barbs you listed, are those compression fittings, $20 bucks is expensive for a single barb.
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2010, 08:32 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

Your barbs are meant for 1/2" ID tubing, while your tubing is 3/8" ID. Oversight? Or are you going for the uber-tight fit?

For an additive, what do you need it for? Primochill tubing is advertised as anti-microbial, so you shouldn't need a biocide. And none of your components should require an anti-corrosive.

Also, while good ,the EK reservoirs are prone to cycloning and whirlpooling, especially in fast-flowing loops, with the shorter tube models. Even their anti-cyclone insert doesn't really do all that much. You might want to consider either wedging a piece of an old credit card halfway down the tube. Another option is to screw a barb and a short piece of tubing to the inside of the top section, and let that break up the cyclone. Either option can be implemented after everything is set up, but it's something to keep in mind (i.e. have an extra barb handy).
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2010, 09:45 AM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,587
Default

Just get a Kill-Coil and run Distilled water in there. What are you all cooling? The MCR220 isn't going to be doing to much.
__________________
DEAD CA$H
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2010, 10:18 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

His rig has a E6820 listed, and if it is that he is cooling, then the MCR20 is plenty. AmuseMe I cooled an E8400 and a 4870 FC block with one without any issues.
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2010, 01:27 PM
Dazmode's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,695
Default

Prices seems fair, although you can get 10 new TFC barbs for $20. You also can check out our new liquidation section at the store for tube and rads.
__________________
Venom Build: Caselabs SMH10, 3930k, 2x GTX680, MSI BigBangII, 8x Dominators, 2 x D5 , Quad Rad, Adaptec 7805, 4x WD Red, 2x Intel 510, Aquaero 5, 11x GT
Silent Sniper Build: Final Video, XSPC H1 Cube case, Supreme HF, 2xGTX470, GA G1 Sniper, Dominators, 2x Triple rad, Triebwerk Fans, 2x D5, Custom Sleeving
Orange Build: Final Video
HTPC Build: Final Video
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2010, 01:37 PM
Sushi Warrior's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Grimsby, Ontario
Posts: 1,620

My System Specs

Default

I did check your store Dazmode but I really wanted the Bitspower barbs (which are $2.50 each, it's $20 for 8 of them) and you don't have them listed. The MCR220 on liquidation looks great though.

It will be a CPU-only loop right now, possibly adding in my 260 with an extra radiator later on. The 220 cools ~200W with 1000RPM fans, so I should definitely be good for the CPU.

I may just rely on the tubing for biocide, as the loop won't be visible to any sunlight anyways. Finding a killcoil is the hardest thing in Canada.

I'm not that worried about cycloning, I will probably be undervolting the MCP355 anyways.

Finally, I do plan on putting 3/8 tube over 1/2 barbs, and I know it is a bitch. I'll just have to be patient
__________________
||EK Supreme LT Nickel||MCP355/EK X-TOPV2||EK150 M-O res||MCR220/White||NZXT FN120RB/FN140RB||
Project|Oroborous by NZXT and MNPC
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2010, 02:00 PM
Dazmode's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,695
Default

We don't stock Bitspower, as Feser fittings has maximized inside diameter and great choice for performance set up (doesn't matter for you although with 3/8 tube).
__________________
Venom Build: Caselabs SMH10, 3930k, 2x GTX680, MSI BigBangII, 8x Dominators, 2 x D5 , Quad Rad, Adaptec 7805, 4x WD Red, 2x Intel 510, Aquaero 5, 11x GT
Silent Sniper Build: Final Video, XSPC H1 Cube case, Supreme HF, 2xGTX470, GA G1 Sniper, Dominators, 2x Triple rad, Triebwerk Fans, 2x D5, Custom Sleeving
Orange Build: Final Video
HTPC Build: Final Video
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2010, 09:04 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Depending on how hot the GTX260 gets, if it doesn't get as warm as a 4870, hey you're in for some luck, you could probably use the same rad for both, or just add another single rad or even a dual rad, I would then look to configure the loop with 2 rads and only 1 pump and res.

I've always preferred Bitspower barbs over anything, although my first barbs I purchased were EK, just regular ones, and boy they still look new, lasted very long.

I might be moving away from the dark side really, still trying to decide, now back to school, not much time for cleaning loop every few months, I have a MCR 220 also, just need to dust it out.

Yeah definitely just use the tube without biocide, I've used the same tubing on my last loop for over 6 months without any problems. In fact, from my last 3-4 loops cleaning and redoing everything, I've used multiple pieces of tubes over and over again, except for the outside which coz of dust and fingerprints look bad, the inside looks pure.

My UV Blue is like a dust magnet, so just a heads up for you Sushi, in case yours start getting dusty too. I though would suggest getting the proper barbs for the tubing, with patience you can get that tubing on the 1/2" barbs, but re-using the tubing is difficult, and you know reusing saves some cost of buying more tubing.
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double Checking - Adding 2GB kit to a 4GB kit? 2Supra4U RAM 5 February 26, 2010 12:54 PM
Needs a double check BootlegUsher New Builds 8 February 8, 2010 11:47 AM
Double Checking my Shopping List AmuseMe Water Cooling 15 October 12, 2009 05:20 PM
Checking Interest Jackquelegs Off Topic 12 July 30, 2009 04:49 PM
just checking something, nothing here God's Prototype O/S's, Drivers & General Software 1 January 19, 2008 11:49 PM