Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old April 12, 2010, 12:51 PM
Top Prospect

Default Is water cooling safe?

Guys, I have never even given water cooling a thought before now...
I'm not a computer novice by any means but completely green when it comes to water cooling... I saw the coolit system eco unboxing by linus, then checked out the corsair H50 review by 3dgameman. Both Items seem very nice indeed.

From what I read they are both closed systems, meaning zero maintenance with no refilling. just blow the dust out of the fan and radiator once in a while... that's it. This alone seems to make it a worthwhile option to cpu cooling.

Now some questions...
NOW.. really... How safe is water cooling on either of those products? Are either suitable for overclocking maybe an i5 750, i7-860 or maybe an i7 920-930.

Does it mater the direction you mount the block or radiator, ie, wires at the bottom, wires at the top, rad below or above the cpu ect? I mean will it affect cooling performance, or cause other issues? If one of these fail will I lose my pc?
Intel Core i5-750 2.66Ghz @ 4Ghz, ASUS P7P55D-E Pro, 4GB G.SKILL Ripjaws cas7, WDC 1Tb WD1001FALS, WDC 640Gb WD6400AAKS, OCZ Vertex 2 Extended Sandforce 60GB, GIGABYTE Radeon HD 7950 3GB 384-bit GDDR5, Corsair Hydro H70, LG GH24NS50 DVD 24x Burner, Antec Eleven Hundred, Antec TruePower New TP-750 750W, Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64

http://i571.photobucket.com/albums/s...osmond/1-1.jpg
http://i571.photobucket.com/albums/s...benchmarks.jpg
Old April 12, 2010, 01:12 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

1. prefilled systems never can match custom built ones.
2. water cooling is very safe the system is not under pressure, think of it as a high speed water fall system to move heat to a rad.
3. rad mount can help but never makes or brakes a water cooling system.
Old April 12, 2010, 01:42 PM
Hall Of Fame