Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old April 8, 2010, 01:24 PM
Trial Member

Default water cooling a video card only ?

Hello
Im a total noob at water cooling. I have a 480gtx coming and they are supposedly very hot and loud under load. I have a p182 case and currently it is very quiet and can barely hear my 260gtx when it spins up. I dont like loud systems. Is it possible to water cool a video card only? I dont intend to over clock i just want quiet. If this is possible what would i need ?
Thanks
Old April 8, 2010, 01:30 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

Yes, it is possible. You would need....

Radiator (I would suggest a PA120.2 from Thermochill - hard to find)
Reservoir
Pump (MCP355/350, EK DCP4.0 should be enough)
GPU Block
Fittings
Tubing

Just read up on some normal WC'ing stuff and replace the GPU block with GPU block... you may have some trouble getting the tubing onto the GPU block (90 degree fitting may help that).
Old April 26, 2010, 05:21 PM
Rookie

if it is your first go at a watercooling system, here's what I'd suggest:

mcr220 radiator from swiftech (best price/performance ratio of all)
mcp655 or 355 pump
get a fullcover block for your 480 (I suggest an EK block because it's so sexy)
you don't need compression fittings but they do look nice. 9$ a pair is the usual price. If not, barbs are like 2$ a pair but you need to use clips/zip-ties.
tubing can be either 5/8 outside diameter (OD) or 3/4 OD. Doesn't really matter in terms of performance and smaller = easier to route. Primochill LRT is a good brand that I can recommend for relatively cheap (14$ for 10 feet).
Get a reservoir that fits either in your 5.25 bay or on top of the pump (if using a 355 pump/res combo).

That's it :)

Don't forget to leak-test your loop after putting it together and before installing it in your machine. You wouldn't want to have a leak on your expensive stuff right away ;)
Old April 26, 2010, 07:06 PM