Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2010, 03:19 PM
scruff's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kamloops B.C.
Posts: 246

My System Specs

Default First WC Try finally running

I have a few more things to clean up , sleeving /pump mounts etc. but it's running , What do ya all think ?
Attached Images
                   
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2010, 03:24 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

I think is awesome. for a first what come after this he he. nice build custom paint on the 800D?
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2010, 12:05 AM
dustin1706's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 625

My System Specs

Default

I have looked at a TON of obsidian dual loop builds in preparation for mine. This is the first one I've seen with the EK dualtop mounted as I plan to mount it. I don't intend to cut out the lower divider, but I like how you drilled the bottoms of the pumps through the divider in your other thread. What made you change it? It still looks cool, just curious.

Also, do you find that you have enough GPU cooling on that single 140?
Are you happy with it? It looks good. I like your choice of colors as well.
Is it reasonably quiet?
Are the lines running down into the lower HD cage just drain lines? Great idea!

I plan on using a 700d with custom window. I already ordered the 150ml reservoirs, but now I think I may need some taller ones.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2010, 08:29 AM
scruff's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kamloops B.C.
Posts: 246

My System Specs

Default

Thanks , Yes there is enough cooling on the 2- 275 gtx water loop , after 2 to 3 hours of BFBC 2 my temps haven't gone over 62 C . I cut out the divider to get more air into the main area of the case , I also cut out the bottom of the case under the 3.5 HHD cage to get more air in .Currently I am sleeving everything and wiring a Koolance TMS 200 and addon card to monitor air into rads and out of rads as well as water temps in 4 places maybe 6 places. I find this setup is quieter than my Antec 1200 case even though I have 9 fans and 2 pumps in the 800D , yes the bottom lines are drains with valves as well and you can see the fill valves on the top of the case. My res's are 150's and work just fine , Next time I will just buy the tubes and tops.
My buddy is also building pretty much the same rig and we both agreed the lower divider pan had to go because other than the rear grills there was no place to get air to the rads with it in place with this setup. ( took about 10 min to cut it out with a Dremmel) Good Luck with yours I am very happy wit this set up , please post pics so we can see how it turns out
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2010, 08:33 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,236

My System Specs

Default

Love the fit for the 120 rad on the rear... did you have to cut out holes for the tubing or did it fit right in like that?
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2010, 08:42 AM
scruff's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kamloops B.C.
Posts: 246

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Love the fit for the 120 rad on the rear... did you have to cut out holes for the tubing or did it fit right in like that?
The rear rad is a Black Ice exteme 140mm , I traced ot the 140mm fan housing and cut out the facory grill to get as much air though the rad as possible , I then drilled new holes for the fittings with a step bit and used the rubber gromets from the lower divider pan to seal and protect the fittings
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2010, 09:53 AM
C130AVN's Avatar
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 33

My System Specs

Default

Nice! I'm impressed with your attention to detail.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2010, 10:37 AM
Dazmode's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,680
Default

Nice solution for single rad! Great case for WC, I just working on my own version.
__________________
Venom Build: Caselabs SMH10, 3930k, 2x GTX680, MSI BigBangII, 8x Dominators, 2 x D5 , Quad Rad, Adaptec 7805, 4x WD Red, 2x Intel 510, Aquaero 5, 11x GT
Silent Sniper Build: Final Video, XSPC H1 Cube case, Supreme HF, 2xGTX470, GA G1 Sniper, Dominators, 2x Triple rad, Triebwerk Fans, 2x D5, Custom Sleeving
Orange Build: Final Video
HTPC Build: Final Video
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2010, 10:57 AM
scruff's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kamloops B.C.
Posts: 246

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dazmode View Post
Nice solution for single rad! Great case for WC, I just working on my own version.
Hey Daz . I'm out of the hospital again so just waiting for more stuff from Nils and get my sleeving done. Kerry is finally getting started on his ,I am also looking at another case to play with (so many to choose from) Thanks again for all your help
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 10, 2010, 12:24 AM
aviduser's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 381
Default

Nicely done, you sure dove right in head first

Puts my first loop to shame for sure. Sorry to hear you've been in the hospital, I've been ill for the last 3 months. Anyway keep up the good work!
__________________
I5 4670K 4.4ghz - Gtx 780 Amp - 2x4 Corsair Vengeance - MSI z87-g43 - Tx 850w - Asus pbq278q
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAM not running at right speed Vegas RAM 16 May 31, 2010 02:02 PM
Back up and running nckid4u HardwareCanucks F@H Team 0 June 6, 2009 11:26 AM
OCCT Running at 65%... Realityshift Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 7 April 22, 2009 01:36 PM
My guide to a smooth running PC Toronto122 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 27 April 14, 2009 03:00 PM
Running RAM 1:1 still the best? biff RAM 12 January 29, 2008 06:30 AM