Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old May 14, 2010, 09:43 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,082

My System Specs

Default

As for the RMA, I don't really know but I believe the warranty on the H50 is 2 years.


Yup I was right:
Quote:
Cooling Products

Corsair Cooling™ (Models CWCH50, CAFA70, and CAFA50) have a 2 year warranty.
Found here: Welcome to Corsair :: Warranty
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."



Last edited by ipaine; May 14, 2010 at 09:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old May 14, 2010, 10:25 PM
RBA RBA is offline
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belleville Ont
Posts: 166

My System Specs

Default

Occasionally it is like a ticking sound. It's happened twice after running my sytem for about 4 day s straight. I reboot and it's gone.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old May 15, 2010, 05:52 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,392
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by headsh0t View Post
Can you RMA for that if that does end up happening to the unit? What is the warranty like on the H50 anyways??? ...
Interesting question. TBH I have no idea. It doesnt really effect performance just is annoying as all hell. All I can say is...if it happens phone em up. Corsair is a very good company to deal with. CoolIT is better, but Corsair really are great too. ;)

Sorry RBA, but not a clue. If its air...the sound would still be there afterwards. It may come and go as the bubble moves around...but it never just stops 'cause you rebooted! Are you sure its coming from the H50 and not the mobo. When it happens again, unplug the pump (only for a second or two....dont want to fry anything!). Does it go away?
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old May 15, 2010, 07:53 AM
artistpavel's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 582

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AkG View Post
Interesting question. TBH I have no idea. It doesnt really effect performance just is annoying as all hell. All I can say is...if it happens phone em up. Corsair is a very good company to deal with. CoolIT is better, but Corsair really are great too. ;)

Sorry RBA, but not a clue. If its air...the sound would still be there afterwards. It may come and go as the bubble moves around...but it never just stops 'cause you rebooted! Are you sure its coming from the H50 and not the mobo. When it happens again, unplug the pump (only for a second or two....dont want to fry anything!). Does it go away?
I've had a unit like that once, the air bubble trapped inside was making a distinctive noise similar to a HDD head seeking sound. I RMAed it to Ncix the next day and got a silent H50.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old May 15, 2010, 12:35 PM
RBA RBA is offline
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belleville Ont
Posts: 166

My System Specs

Default

Ok RMA is one option, I'll poke around inside the case if the noise starts again while the system is running to see if it something else. Artistpavel described the noise better than I did. Right now it's running silent. Worse case i replace stock cooler and RMA H50 to Corsair. At least there is a two year warrenty on the unit.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2010, 06:05 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 68
Default I know this may be a lame question but I have to ask it

Has anyone tried attaching a h50 to there motherboard with the mounting bracket from their previous cooler....

I'm using a lian li pc 7b-plus II case with a ZALMAN CNPS10X Performa, which has a very stable mounting system, and it seems to me just by looking that the mounting pins that go through the motherboard, are always a hair above being flush with the motherboard, and a lot of them seem to use the same threads for the screws so.... given the fact my motherboard tray is not removable, I'd rather just screw the h50 into the zalmans mounting bracket on the back of the motherboard.... instead of ripping my motherboard out of my case////
__________________
Intel Core i5-750 2.66Ghz @ 4Ghz, ASUS P7P55D-E Pro, 4GB G.SKILL Ripjaws cas7, WDC 1Tb WD1001FALS, WDC 640Gb WD6400AAKS, OCZ Vertex 2 Extended Sandforce 60GB, GIGABYTE Radeon HD 7950 3GB 384-bit GDDR5, Corsair Hydro H70, LG GH24NS50 DVD 24x Burner, Antec Eleven Hundred, Antec TruePower New TP-750 750W, Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64

http://i571.photobucket.com/albums/s...osmond/1-1.jpg
http://i571.photobucket.com/albums/s...benchmarks.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2010, 07:52 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,568

My System Specs

Default

Not really the right thread to put this in but, I'm not sure what kind of mounting system the Zalman uses but I doubt it. If you look in the H50 instructions the way it mounts is there is a circle ring with notches in it and you stick the pump/block underneath it and line up the notches in the ring with the ones on the pump/block and then tighten the ring with screws IIRC (only installed it once...) So I highly doubt it but if it looks like you can, try it I guess?
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2010, 07:40 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 68
Default hmmmm

I never meant to imply I would try using the zalmans top mounting bracket in place of corsairs , meaning the retainer loop thingy with the metal teeth... I meant the part that's on the back of the motherboard which has pins that go through the motherboard allowing the cpu cooler to be screwed down on top of the cpu... I might only be guessing but all of those mother board back plate pins seem to be nearly flush with the motherboard, and all seem to be the same size, or else they cannot fit through the holes on the motherboard. In the past I've successfully mounted coolers from one company with back plates from another will no hassle, and so I think the screw threads "should be the same" ....and if so it saves me the hassle of dismantling my case and removing the motherboard...
__________________
Intel Core i5-750 2.66Ghz @ 4Ghz, ASUS P7P55D-E Pro, 4GB G.SKILL Ripjaws cas7, WDC 1Tb WD1001FALS, WDC 640Gb WD6400AAKS, OCZ Vertex 2 Extended Sandforce 60GB, GIGABYTE Radeon HD 7950 3GB 384-bit GDDR5, Corsair Hydro H70, LG GH24NS50 DVD 24x Burner, Antec Eleven Hundred, Antec TruePower New TP-750 750W, Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64

http://i571.photobucket.com/albums/s...osmond/1-1.jpg
http://i571.photobucket.com/albums/s...benchmarks.jpg
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CoolIT Reveals New ECO, Vantage, OMNI and Maestro Products SKYMTL Press Releases & Tech News 9 March 6, 2010 06:49 PM
Coolit Systems Domino ALC LEAKING OH NOES! Pelt Water Cooling 18 August 30, 2009 08:38 AM
CoolIT Systems Unveils HD 4870 X2 Liquid Cooling System MAC Press Releases & Tech News 0 August 18, 2008 02:46 PM
CoolIT Systems Freezone Elite Scratch Member Reviews 25 June 18, 2008 04:43 PM