Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 06:07 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

nothing I read here will stop me to buy a Swiftech XT .....
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 06:12 PM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,587
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkOne View Post
nothing I read here will stop me to buy a Swiftech XT .....
All the power to you Mark I'm not saying that the XT is poorly-made (well, I kinda am), but it could be made better. I mean, there is no need for Swiftech to run their milling machine through the base like they do. It's an absolute mess under there - but as long as temps are good, that is all that matters, eh?

Oh, and about the Swiftech corrosion thing - if you do it right, you wont have corrosion.
__________________
DEAD CA$H
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 06:15 PM
Sushi Warrior's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Grimsby, Ontario
Posts: 1,620

My System Specs

Default

I see a lot more people with corrosion on Swiftech blocks than any other by FAR (black corrosion, green corrosion, blue corrosion). I have never seen a corroded EK block (or heatkiller block).
__________________
||EK Supreme LT Nickel||MCP355/EK X-TOPV2||EK150 M-O res||MCR220/White||NZXT FN120RB/FN140RB||
Project|Oroborous by NZXT and MNPC
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 06:47 PM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,587
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sushi Warrior View Post
I see a lot more people with corrosion on Swiftech blocks than any other by FAR (black corrosion, green corrosion, blue corrosion). I have never seen a corroded EK block (or heatkiller block).
If you want, Ill PM you pics of some corroded ones lol.

As for the OP: Get whatever you think looks the best for a CPU block out of the ones mentioned.
__________________
DEAD CA$H
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 06:53 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AmuseMe View Post
If you want, Ill PM you pics of some corroded ones lol.
of course. copper oxyde, it's why Koolance plate them

Quote:
Originally Posted by AmuseMe View Post
.... there is no need for Swiftech to run their milling machine through the base like they do. It's an absolute mess under there - but as long as temps are good, that is all that matters, eh?.
funny many complain that Koolance copy the HK, at least Swiftech don't


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sushi Warrior View Post
I see a lot more people with corrosion on Swiftech blocks than any other by FAR (black corrosion, green corrosion, blue corrosion). I have never seen a corroded EK block (or heatkiller block).
may be they simply sell more of them

you read to much . those problems was with the gtx , the base was in copper and the top in aluminum plated ... little question here, have you ever play with water cooling , or make plumbing, I can assure you all copper get oxyded

Last edited by MarkOne; March 21, 2010 at 07:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 07:46 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

After all the debate I will do more search and update it probably tomorrow. Thx guys for all advice!
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2010, 04:06 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

So here is an update! After few look at all the water block I could get I finally decide to go with the 360
Koolance CPU-360 (CPU) [no nozzles] Products Model: CPU-360 [CPU-360] : Performance-PCs.com, ... sleeve it and they will come

He is nice looking and review are nice.
WaterBlock : Koolance 360 Rev 1.1
pompe: Swiftech MCP-655, avec EK top et body Bitspower
reservoir: Swiftech Micro-res V.2
radiateur: Thermochill PA120.3

So now what tube and fitting well what's all the other thing do you suggest to me guys!
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2010, 04:14 PM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,587
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martin_metal_88 View Post
So here is an update! After few look at all the water block I could get I finally decide to go with the 360
Koolance CPU-360 (CPU) [no nozzles] Products Model: CPU-360 [CPU-360] : Performance-PCs.com, ... sleeve it and they will come

He is nice looking and review are nice.
WaterBlock : Koolance 360 Rev 1.1
pompe: Swiftech MCP-655, avec EK top et body Bitspower
reservoir: Swiftech Micro-res V.2
radiateur: Thermochill PA120.3

So now what tube and fitting well what's all the other thing do you suggest to me guys!
You will need two G3/8 barbs or G3/8 to G1/4 adapters regardless:
Bitspower Shining Silver G 3/8 to G 1/4 Adapter Fitting # BP-WTP-C23 - allows the use of any G1/4 barb
EK High Flow Fittings G 3/8 to 1/2in. ID Barb - is 1/2 for 1/2ID tubing

As for tubing and barbs, most people get 1/2ID x 3/4OD tubing. I myself use 3/8x5/8 so I dont need to use clamps on my fittings

Looks at BitsPower Compression fittings
__________________
DEAD CA$H
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2010, 04:19 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

fitting : plain regular barb, compression are way to risky, you pull a hose on a compression and it pull out.. and they cost more , Martin is on a budget,

here the fitting I use on my rigs, 1/2 , since you have already few 1/2 , continue with them
NCIX.com - Buy Bitspower G1/4 High Flow 1/2IN Barb Fittings for 1/2IN ID Tubing (Pair) - BP20065 In Canada.

the tube , if you order your koolance at Ncix , you can grab a Primochild, they are exactly the same as Fezer, chose the color you wants
NCIX.com - Buy Primochill Primoflex Pro LRT Black 1/2IN ID 3/4IN OD Tubing (10 Feet) - PFLEXP10-34-BK In Canada.

here few clamp for your tubing
NCIX.com - Buy Swiftech Adjustable Black Hose Clamps for 1/2IN Inner Diameter 3/4IN Outer Diameter Tubing (2 Pack) - 1/2-CLAMP-X2 In Canada.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2010, 04:22 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AmuseMe View Post
You will need two G3/8 barbs or G3/8 to G1/4 adapters regardless:
wait a minute

the Koolance is G1/4 no need for adaptor , I know I have one...

http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...9-koolance.jpg
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Optimal water setup Fudd Rucker Water Cooling 8 October 15, 2009 10:26 AM
Custom Water Cooling Setup BALISTX Water Cooling 37 July 29, 2008 10:02 PM
Need help with first water cooling setup. BALISTX Water Cooling 18 March 23, 2008 10:11 PM
First water cooling setup. jubeix Water Cooling 6 November 16, 2007 06:22 PM
Anyone looking for help with a water cooling setup, please post here Misoprostol Water Cooling 75 September 17, 2007 11:09 AM