Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2007, 06:00 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 123
Default Where the water go...

I installed a water cooling 3 months ago. I can see that I gona have to fill it a little bit. I don't see any leakage. Is someone knows where the water go

Thank you
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad QX6700 OC 3.6GHz
Mobo D975XBX2, 4GB DDR2 800 MHz Corsair TWIN X Dominator
4X 36GB Raptor in RAID 0 (on Intel controller with dual Boot Win32 Pro)
3X 360 GB Seagate No RAID (on Marvell controller for Apps, Paging and Back up)
EVGA GeForce 8800GTS Dual DVI- 2x Monitors 24'' 1920 x 1200
Water Cooling, Ultra X3 1000 Watts PWS.
ASUS Laptop G2S T7700 @ 2.4GHz
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2007, 06:03 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,592
Default

water + heat = evaporation
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2007, 06:53 PM
Wankerfx's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 583
Default

Do you have an opening somewhere in your loop, like a reservoir? If you do, then you have evaporation going on. It's normal, so don't be alarmed.
__________________
[ER]
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2007, 07:20 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

Another possibility is that you have a micro-leak somewhere in your system - one which is so small (and slow) that the coolant actually evaporates as fast as it leaks.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2007, 05:47 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 8
Default

Tubing is ever so slightly porous. Water permeates through, and that's where the water goes.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2007, 05:56 PM
Misoprostol
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Yugen's response is bang-on.

If you use Swiftech's norprene tubing, you can avoid this, but other than that, you're stuck with it.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2007, 06:16 PM
Apollo4g's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 876
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Misoprostol View Post
Yugen's response is bang-on.

If you use Swiftech's norprene tubing, you can avoid this, but other than that, you're stuck with it.
Also take into the factor when you first filled your loop there was most probably small bubbles stuck everywhere in your loop. Places like the radiator, waterblocks, etc.
As time goes by these bubbles aggravated and are set into the flow of the liquid.
It then ends up in your reservoir/t-line decreasing the level of fluid in your reservoir to compensate for the amount of space the bubble was taking up.

When you first bleed your loop it looks clear and to be free of air, but in reality its not at all, over time as the liquid flows it makes your liquid more concentrated. (concentrated meaning free of air in this case.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by YugenM View Post
Tubing is ever so slightly porous. Water permeates through, and that's where the water goes.
That is true but with Tygon tubing that is very very slight.
All depends on what tubing you are using.
With tygon and laboratory grade tubing this permeation is very very very slight if not even measurable in some cases.
__________________
800D | i7 920 | EVGA Classified LE | 5970 EK Waterblock | 12GB - 1600 Dominators DDR3 | Silverstone Decathlon 1200W | Vertex 120GB |
ASUS Xonar HDAV1.3 | Heatkiller 3.0 | Thermochill PA.120.3 | Freezone Elite | 2x655's with EK Dual D5 Top | T-Virus Res |




Last edited by Apollo4g; October 22, 2007 at 06:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2007, 06:56 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,468

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Misoprostol View Post
Yugen's response is bang-on.

If you use Swiftech's norprene tubing, you can avoid this, but other than that, you're stuck with it.
After finding myself short on 3/8" tubing for a project, I remembered that I had 7' of 3/8" ID fuel line (black with fiber). Wouldn't that be pretty well non-porous as well? And second to that.... any reason why it couldn't be used in a water loop?

It wouldn't fully kink, and it looks like even when partially kinked, the hole just becomes elongated rather than pinched which should allow for fairly good flow without too much restriction.

What do you think?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2007, 07:22 PM
Apollo4g's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 876
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
After finding myself short on 3/8" tubing for a project, I remembered that I had 7' of 3/8" ID fuel line (black with fiber). Wouldn't that be pretty well non-porous as well? And second to that.... any reason why it couldn't be used in a water loop?

It wouldn't fully kink, and it looks like even when partially kinked, the hole just becomes elongated rather than pinched which should allow for fairly good flow without too much restriction.

What do you think?
That fuel tubing is great with those interwoven fibers inside it right?
I used that for a whole loop once, like you said it prevents kinks and is really hard to kink that tubing.
But after a while i just got sick of the look.

Nothing wrong with using that tubing at all.
Some people prefer it to tygon,masterkleer and the other tubings normally used.
__________________
800D | i7 920 | EVGA Classified LE | 5970 EK Waterblock | 12GB - 1600 Dominators DDR3 | Silverstone Decathlon 1200W | Vertex 120GB |
ASUS Xonar HDAV1.3 | Heatkiller 3.0 | Thermochill PA.120.3 | Freezone Elite | 2x655's with EK Dual D5 Top | T-Virus Res |



Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2007, 07:32 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Misoprostol View Post
Yugen's response is bang-on.

If you use Swiftech's norprene tubing, you can avoid this, but other than that, you're stuck with it.
Norprene's porosity is 1/5 of Vinyl tubing, according to Swiftech's site

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apollo4g View Post

That is true but with Tygon tubing that is very very slight.
All depends on what tubing you are using.
With tygon and laboratory grade tubing this permeation is very very very slight if not even measurable in some cases.
Friend's PC, Tygon throughout:
[H]ard|Forum - View Single Post - New and Improved Watercooling Sticky - Post Your Systems Here
Pretty disgusting how the Dexcool condensed as the water evap'd out of the loop, giving it a murky colour
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water Cooling How To?? e_1337 Water Cooling 5 March 16, 2008 01:00 PM
Water not moving Infiniti Water Cooling 17 January 2, 2008 10:35 AM
Water cooling kit Vinnie Water Cooling 5 November 12, 2007 09:22 PM
Another DIY Water Cooling Rig Magnesious Water Cooling 5 April 14, 2007 11:51 AM