Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2010, 01:29 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

the problem is not Koolance, it's Gigabyte that make the thing imposible, those caps are to close to the cpu socket
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2010, 07:05 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,984

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkOne View Post
the problem is not Koolance, it's Gigabyte that make the thing imposible, those caps are to close to the cpu socket
And Koolance had absolutely no reason to make the base that irregular shape. Nor is there a reason to extent over the IHS.
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2010, 07:24 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

I will see when I gone receive mine, but this a pic of under the block , look to me they want to use a round O ring

Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2010, 07:26 PM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,587
Default

*Cough* *Cough* HK 3.0 Clone. New Koolance CPU-360 Waterblock - Overclock.net - Overclocking.net Im sure more of you noticed, also take a read on the first page
__________________
DEAD CA$H
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2010, 08:11 PM
aCid888*'s Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Englander lost in Montreal.
Posts: 167

My System Specs

Default

Who cares if its a clone or not??

The OCZ Vanquisher is a "clone" of the HDT-1283 but people still didn't mind as its all about choice.


Personally, I don't like the way HK blocks look and much prefer this block.....someone else may not agree but there are two products out there that perform well and look good.

I just want people to be informed about issues with products before they go wasting their money on something that doesn't work.


It's also nice to see someone quoted my post word for word over at another forum.
__________________
Hers (pInky):
945ES @ 3.92GHz (1.5v) - Lapped Fuzion v1
MCP-355/XSPC Top + Black Ice Extreme 360
Asus M3A79-T Deluxe 790FX (MX-2 NB + SB)
2x2GB G.Skill Pi Black @ 900MHz 444-12
PNY "XLR8" 9800GX2 @ 704/2202/1760
Seagate 500GB + XP SP3
22" Acer P223w @ 1680x1050
Modded Lian Li PC-60F
SB Audigy 2 w/ Heatsink

Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2010, 02:23 PM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,587
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aCid888* View Post
Who cares if its a clone or not??

The OCZ Vanquisher is a "clone" of the HDT-1283 but people still didn't mind as its all about choice.


Personally, I don't like the way HK blocks look and much prefer this block.....someone else may not agree but there are two products out there that perform well and look good.

I just want people to be informed about issues with products before they go wasting their money on something that doesn't work.
Fair enough. My fault with going off topic. But I must agree with Space Pope over there "I just don't like companies reverse engineering other peoples products." I totally agree with him, than again almost every company copies another one some way or another - looks like I just need to get use to this

Hey Koolance - is it made out of aluminum?
__________________
DEAD CA$H
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2010, 03:05 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

The CPU-360 contains a copper cold plate with brass top. As with all Koolance products, nickel plating is added to improve corrosion resistance

Copper Cold Plate, Brass Top, Nickel-Plating, Stainless Steel Jet Plate
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2010, 03:25 PM
aCid888*'s Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Englander lost in Montreal.
Posts: 167

My System Specs

Default

No worry for going off topic......it happens in every thread.

I'd sooner have a winning design copied (HK?) than a company putting out crap they have tried to design and make work well but have failed.



On a good note, Koolance have RMAed HammerON's block and are looking into this case.

For the time being, DO NOT ORDER this block for your Gigabyte P55/X58 board....or any other board that has caps all around the CPU socket.



The real issue here is GB and their stupid board design that does indeed violate the space around the socket.....add in the fact that Koolance decided to make a block with a big, odd shaped block and it makes for this issue.
__________________
Hers (pInky):
945ES @ 3.92GHz (1.5v) - Lapped Fuzion v1
MCP-355/XSPC Top + Black Ice Extreme 360
Asus M3A79-T Deluxe 790FX (MX-2 NB + SB)
2x2GB G.Skill Pi Black @ 900MHz 444-12
PNY "XLR8" 9800GX2 @ 704/2202/1760
Seagate 500GB + XP SP3
22" Acer P223w @ 1680x1050
Modded Lian Li PC-60F
SB Audigy 2 w/ Heatsink

Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2010, 04:54 PM
aCid888*'s Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Englander lost in Montreal.
Posts: 167

My System Specs

Exclamation

UPDATE!



Quote:
Originally Posted by (Koolance)Tim
We are currently investigating reports of mounting conflicts on some Gigabyte X58 motherboards with the CPU-360. Although Gigabyte seems to be the main issue, we will be looking into other brands.

The problem relates to capacitors which are too close to the CPU socket. The CPU-360 is 59mm at the widest part of the cold plate. There needs to be at least 2.65mm of clearance between nearby rows of capacitors and the closest edge of the CPU socket. Updates will be posted here once we know more, including potential workarounds and/or modifications to the CPU-360.

Pictures of an ASUS Rampage II GENE (with the CPU-360 mounted properly) are below.




__________________
Hers (pInky):
945ES @ 3.92GHz (1.5v) - Lapped Fuzion v1
MCP-355/XSPC Top + Black Ice Extreme 360
Asus M3A79-T Deluxe 790FX (MX-2 NB + SB)
2x2GB G.Skill Pi Black @ 900MHz 444-12
PNY "XLR8" 9800GX2 @ 704/2202/1760
Seagate 500GB + XP SP3
22" Acer P223w @ 1680x1050
Modded Lian Li PC-60F
SB Audigy 2 w/ Heatsink

Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2010, 05:19 PM
Dazmode's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,695
Default

Obviously Koolance didn't do homework. GA is big enough to be on the check list.
__________________
Venom Build: Caselabs SMH10, 3930k, 2x GTX680, MSI BigBangII, 8x Dominators, 2 x D5 , Quad Rad, Adaptec 7805, 4x WD Red, 2x Intel 510, Aquaero 5, 11x GT
Silent Sniper Build: Final Video, XSPC H1 Cube case, Supreme HF, 2xGTX470, GA G1 Sniper, Dominators, 2x Triple rad, Triebwerk Fans, 2x D5, Custom Sleeving
Orange Build: Final Video
HTPC Build: Final Video
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] Koolance CPU-350AC (Acrylic) Apollo4g Buy/Sell & Trade 28 October 15, 2009 12:31 AM
Upgrading issues, what vid card, cpu?! Andy New Builds 10 September 24, 2008 11:43 PM
Please take a look(cpu -ram issues)any help will be apreciated. evzonas CPU's and Motherboards 12 August 11, 2008 12:50 PM
Discussion Thread for Koolance CPU-330 review Misoprostol Water Cooling 35 April 20, 2008 05:23 PM