Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2007, 07:08 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 305
Default Watercooling GPU's/CPU/kit

Hay guys.... Happy Thanksgiving....


I have a question about watercooling. I am considering water cooling my Gpu's (SLI'd) and also my CPU. I have no room for pumps and resivoirs inside the case. I am kinda a neat freak dso I am looking for something reasonable to get this to work. I came across this little unit and I really like the looks of it. But to chill 2 gpu's and a cpu with a mild overclock, im just not sure if it would do the job... 2 Stealth Water blocks and a 120 compact kit...

heres the item, and heres a photo of what it may look like... Can I hit you guys up for some critical comments on the subject.... thanks....
Attached Images
   
__________________
i2600k sandy bridge @ 3.4ghz/ 2x 8800 GTX KO ACS3 PCI-E 630MHZ 768MB 2.0GHZ SLI'd / Raptor 74GB / Antec 1200 Hundred Gaming Case / G.Skill Ripjaws ddr3 1600 cl 8-8-8-24 - 8gigs / evga z68 SLI MOBO / Samsung DVD+RW / Corsair ax850 PSU / 24" Samsung CinkMaster

Cooling:
Swiftech Dual rad
Swiftech Single rad
Swiftech Micro Res
Swiftech Apogee GT Cpu block
Feser One Red Fluid
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2007, 08:07 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,667

My System Specs

Default

Not enough. You need at least a dual rad. The Swiftech Ultra kit would do the trick.

http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...cture=Swiftech

Just add the 2 VC blocks in the loop. But then you need to fit that dual rad inside your case. Which one is it?

John
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2007, 08:09 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,711

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, 2 GPUs + a CPU is a bit much to ask out of a 120 rad.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2007, 08:15 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

I would say it would be fine for the CPU, but are you planning on cooling the GPU with that li'l rad? me thinks you need more

edit- sorry- too slow on the draw with my reply- what they said

Last edited by Babrbarossa; October 7, 2007 at 08:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2007, 08:27 PM
Patriote's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Babrbarossa View Post
I would say it would be fine for the CPU, but are you planning on cooling the GPU with that li'l rad? me thinks you need more

edit- sorry- too slow on the draw with my reply- what they said
WOW! Babrbarossa, man, hows it going! Been a while!

Anyway, to get back on topic, no, it won't be enough. Not at all i'd say. As Charlie said, you need at least a Dual 120mm rad. And thats the very minimum... I wouldn't even hook 2 overclocked 8800GTXs on an MCR-220...

Unless you have enough money for whats good in watercooling, i'd recommend you to forget watercooling the GPUs and start with the CPU and maybe NB for now.
__________________
- Asus P8Z68-V PRO
- Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz (for now)
- Asus Geforce 580GTX DirectCUII Fermi
- 16GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile
- Ultra X3 1000 Watt
- Asus Xonar DX 7.1 \ Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
- Corsair Vengeance 1300 Gaming Headset
- Crucial M4 SSD 128GB \ WD Caviar Black 1TB
- CoolerMaster 690II Advanced
- Dell UltraSharp 24''
- Noctua NH-D14
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2007, 08:43 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 305
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Not enough. You need at least a dual rad. The Swiftech Ultra kit would do the trick.

http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...cture=Swiftech

Just add the 2 VC blocks in the loop. But then you need to fit that dual rad inside your case. Which one is it?

John

Antec 900, no room for anything unless I can mount everything outside
. Maybe I should just try the CPU for now and see what happens. Would love to do all, would love to install the Stealths on the GPU's.......guess I should have thought of this beore buying a case that not watercooled ready... or atleast thought of the chance of watercooling way back when.....


EDIT.......

actually you know what..... since I would be doing ther GPU's aswel with this kit..... I could move my harddrive in the lower bay, up to the middle bay leaving room on the bottom for the pump aand resivoir....... it might work..... I didnt think of this before becasue I had tried to keep the middle bay open for the air flow... but it wouldn't be needed anymore since I am cooling the cards via water.... WOOT WOOT!!!.


edit.....

How can i fit this rad on teh back of the case and still plug in the VGA cables into the vid cards??? I roughly measured and can't see how it fits casue the rad would get into the way... would it fit..?
__________________
i2600k sandy bridge @ 3.4ghz/ 2x 8800 GTX KO ACS3 PCI-E 630MHZ 768MB 2.0GHZ SLI'd / Raptor 74GB / Antec 1200 Hundred Gaming Case / G.Skill Ripjaws ddr3 1600 cl 8-8-8-24 - 8gigs / evga z68 SLI MOBO / Samsung DVD+RW / Corsair ax850 PSU / 24" Samsung CinkMaster

Cooling:
Swiftech Dual rad
Swiftech Single rad
Swiftech Micro Res
Swiftech Apogee GT Cpu block
Feser One Red Fluid

Last edited by frosty; October 8, 2007 at 09:07 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2007, 09:18 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

I think you could fit the pump and res in the empty drive bay fairly easily. Have you considered the top of the case for rad mount- some people do rear mounts by letting the top of the rad extend above the top of the case a little so that it doesn't block essentials (cdnmadrach)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2007, 12:01 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 305
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Babrbarossa View Post
I think you could fit the pump and res in the empty drive bay fairly easily. Have you considered the top of the case for rad mount- some people do rear mounts by letting the top of the rad extend above the top of the case a little so that it doesn't block essentials (cdnmadrach)
Kinda like a chair with the top of my case being the part u sit your butt on and the Rad sticking up being the back of the chair?? Sorry for the description. Also... Can the rad be mounted that way without modifying, are there 8 sets of screw holes in the rad to allow a user to accomplish this? Also, the pump at the bottom... still okay?
__________________
i2600k sandy bridge @ 3.4ghz/ 2x 8800 GTX KO ACS3 PCI-E 630MHZ 768MB 2.0GHZ SLI'd / Raptor 74GB / Antec 1200 Hundred Gaming Case / G.Skill Ripjaws ddr3 1600 cl 8-8-8-24 - 8gigs / evga z68 SLI MOBO / Samsung DVD+RW / Corsair ax850 PSU / 24" Samsung CinkMaster

Cooling:
Swiftech Dual rad
Swiftech Single rad
Swiftech Micro Res
Swiftech Apogee GT Cpu block
Feser One Red Fluid
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2007, 12:18 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Yeah- I'm not sure what the back of the case looks like but you might be able to rear mount it without it sticking up very far- rads have four screw holes on both side for every 120mm length- so a 240mm rad would have eight per side. Truthfully though, you got quite collection of amazing components so would you consider doing it right and selling your 900 and getting this: http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...R&promoid=1019

tons of room and a great price now- this way you could work toward a dual loop system which is much more ideal for watercooling a couple of GTXs- they produce a shitload of heat that you probably don't want running throgh your cpu block. maybe you could start with a single loop and just the CPU (and maybe NB) and save up for the second loop for the GPUs. I know, I know, it never ends.......

The good thing about custom H2O setups as they don't get obsolete as quickly as the rest of your components.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2007, 01:14 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,667

My System Specs

Default

There are always solutions when water-cooling. Changing the case is one. If you wish to keep your 900, then you could mount the rad backside, just like I did for a customer on his P180.



Plenty of space for the cables, since Swiftech provides a radbox between the case and the fan. Also to answer your question, the pump MUST be lower than the reservoir.

John
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thinking About Watercooling - Where To Buy? ChuckleBrother Water Cooling 17 March 24, 2008 10:30 PM
Watercooling the Antec 900 JD Water Cooling 44 December 10, 2007 09:13 AM
Help With Watercooling! Gasp! llama_egg Water Cooling 27 December 8, 2007 10:06 AM
Gigabyte watercooling kit Vinnie Water Cooling 1 November 27, 2007 08:18 PM
Internal watercooling kit kING4000 Water Cooling 18 October 15, 2007 12:05 PM