Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2007, 01:17 PM
Apollo4g's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 876
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowmeph View Post
I am curious I wonder how much it would cost to get a rad built from a radiator shot like get a quade core built years ago when I had a 1972 V8 Vega I had to get my Radiator built because there wasn't any that would fit in my car that would keep it cool enough
I really have no idea, but i believe the radiator you built for your car is "bonni ville" type radiator.
They are much more bulky and cool less efficient than the chamber rads like the Thermochill and Hw Labs use.
But building one of those rads like the one fo your car would be much cheaper.

If you can make one totally out of copper it would be good, and have the tubes flatened instead of round.
Since the car radiators normally have aluminium cooling fins and not copper. But they do use copper pipes.

Get aquote on that
__________________
800D | i7 920 | EVGA Classified LE | 5970 EK Waterblock | 12GB - 1600 Dominators DDR3 | Silverstone Decathlon 1200W | Vertex 120GB |
ASUS Xonar HDAV1.3 | Heatkiller 3.0 | Thermochill PA.120.3 | Freezone Elite | 2x655's with EK Dual D5 Top | T-Virus Res |



Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2007, 02:22 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,281

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apollo4g View Post
I really have no idea, but i believe the radiator you built for your car is "bonni ville" type radiator.
They are much more bulky and cool less efficient than the chamber rads like the Thermochill and Hw Labs use.
But building one of those rads like the one fo your car would be much cheaper.

If you can make one totally out of copper it would be good, and have the tubes flatened instead of round.
Since the car radiators normally have aluminium cooling fins and not copper. But they do use copper pipes.

Get aquote on that
the Rad I had in my V8 vega was totally made from scratch the measurements where like 16"x36" 4core and back then (not sure about now) all rads where all copper.
I am wondering what is the difference between flattened and round tubes? I would think that round would be better because it wouldn't restrict the water flow ( less back pressure)
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2007, 02:36 PM
Apollo4g's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 876
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowmeph View Post
the Rad I had in my V8 vega was totally made from scratch the measurements where like 16"x36" 4core and back then (not sure about now) all rads where all copper.
I am wondering what is the difference between flattened and round tubes? I would think that round would be better because it wouldn't restrict the water flow ( less back pressure)

True round tubes are less restrictive but flatened tubes have much more surface area to contact the liquid, there for tansfering more heat from the liquid to the cooling fins.
__________________
800D | i7 920 | EVGA Classified LE | 5970 EK Waterblock | 12GB - 1600 Dominators DDR3 | Silverstone Decathlon 1200W | Vertex 120GB |
ASUS Xonar HDAV1.3 | Heatkiller 3.0 | Thermochill PA.120.3 | Freezone Elite | 2x655's with EK Dual D5 Top | T-Virus Res |



Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2007, 05:28 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 305
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apollo4g View Post
Yup thats a great rad, but is really hard to find.
Thermochill has a shortage to north america.
I got mine from NCIX when it was in stock. You just got to wait for it :)
Or get it from somewhere in the U.S. that has it in stock.
It will have a higher price tag on it for sure since its a hard rad to come by right now.

Alright now as for your parts.

CPU block: go with the D-Tek Fuzion it is now in stock at NCIX and cools better than the Apogee GTX.
Get the nozzle kit for the fuzion as well it helps cut down 2-3C more.

Radiator: For now that MCR320 will do uless you get Thermochill PA.120.3.
The MCR is a great rad but not better than the PA.120.3.

Pump: that D5 (655) is a good pump.

GPU block: Dont get the stealth, get the EK full coverage block. It is made from copper unlike the stealth, its made from aluminium and can cause problems in your loop.

Coolant:Dont use that "dielectric fluid"
from work! You never know what chemicals are in there and could casue a checmical reaction and ruin your whole loop.
Just use some distelled water,anti-freeze and a biocide. I make mine myself so i know exactly what goes in my loop.
For a blue anti-freeze i ordered my G11 coolant from Petras Tech shop as well as my biocide.

G11 coolant : Petra's Tech Shop
Biocide : Petra's Tech Shop

hmm link button to insert links is not working.

thanks.. im looking into the parts you mentioned!!! appreciate yort thoughts!!!
__________________
i2600k sandy bridge @ 3.4ghz/ 2x 8800 GTX KO ACS3 PCI-E 630MHZ 768MB 2.0GHZ SLI'd / Raptor 74GB / Antec 1200 Hundred Gaming Case / G.Skill Ripjaws ddr3 1600 cl 8-8-8-24 - 8gigs / evga z68 SLI MOBO / Samsung DVD+RW / Corsair ax850 PSU / 24" Samsung CinkMaster

Cooling:
Swiftech Dual rad
Swiftech Single rad
Swiftech Micro Res
Swiftech Apogee GT Cpu block
Feser One Red Fluid
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2007, 11:31 AM
Apollo4g's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 876
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frosty View Post
thanks.. im looking into the parts you mentioned!!! appreciate yort thoughts!!!
No problem at all!
If you need more help just post back here.
__________________
800D | i7 920 | EVGA Classified LE | 5970 EK Waterblock | 12GB - 1600 Dominators DDR3 | Silverstone Decathlon 1200W | Vertex 120GB |
ASUS Xonar HDAV1.3 | Heatkiller 3.0 | Thermochill PA.120.3 | Freezone Elite | 2x655's with EK Dual D5 Top | T-Virus Res |



Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2007, 07:42 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 305
Default

if I needed a pump that had the in's and outs on the front...... would you reccomend a pump?? all the ones I see have a top and end inlets... looking at some photos, I might need a pump with outlets on the ends. For example.. something like this...
http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...cture=Swiftech

are these types of pumps do able?? I think I may be able to put a 90 degree fitting on the other type of pumps...... not sure though.
__________________
i2600k sandy bridge @ 3.4ghz/ 2x 8800 GTX KO ACS3 PCI-E 630MHZ 768MB 2.0GHZ SLI'd / Raptor 74GB / Antec 1200 Hundred Gaming Case / G.Skill Ripjaws ddr3 1600 cl 8-8-8-24 - 8gigs / evga z68 SLI MOBO / Samsung DVD+RW / Corsair ax850 PSU / 24" Samsung CinkMaster

Cooling:
Swiftech Dual rad
Swiftech Single rad
Swiftech Micro Res
Swiftech Apogee GT Cpu block
Feser One Red Fluid
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2007, 07:46 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,599

My System Specs

Default

Great pump. Small, quiet, and powerful enough to cool my Q6600 - see sig.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2007, 03:56 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 305
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Great pump. Small, quiet, and powerful enough to cool my Q6600 - see sig.

and 2 gpu'saswell as the CPU??
__________________
i2600k sandy bridge @ 3.4ghz/ 2x 8800 GTX KO ACS3 PCI-E 630MHZ 768MB 2.0GHZ SLI'd / Raptor 74GB / Antec 1200 Hundred Gaming Case / G.Skill Ripjaws ddr3 1600 cl 8-8-8-24 - 8gigs / evga z68 SLI MOBO / Samsung DVD+RW / Corsair ax850 PSU / 24" Samsung CinkMaster

Cooling:
Swiftech Dual rad
Swiftech Single rad
Swiftech Micro Res
Swiftech Apogee GT Cpu block
Feser One Red Fluid
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2007, 05:24 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,599

My System Specs

Default

Adding 2 GPU blocks will cause restriction in the loop. Can the MCP355 handle that? I don't know. The MCP655 has 3 times the flow (1200 Lph) and twice the max. pressure (50psi) of the MCP355.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2007, 05:32 PM
Apollo4g's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 876
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frosty View Post
and 2 gpu'saswell as the CPU??
Hmmm what tubing are you planning to use?
The 350 and 355 pump have 3/8" barbs fixed on.
For a cpu and 2 gpus i would suggest a 655 pump, this stronger and more reliable.
I have 2 655s myself and i love them.

If you plan on the 3** pumps get the 355, its stronger than the 350.

Or also you can get 2 350 pumps and put them in a series configuration.
Note that the 355 pump is quite loud.
__________________
800D | i7 920 | EVGA Classified LE | 5970 EK Waterblock | 12GB - 1600 Dominators DDR3 | Silverstone Decathlon 1200W | Vertex 120GB |
ASUS Xonar HDAV1.3 | Heatkiller 3.0 | Thermochill PA.120.3 | Freezone Elite | 2x655's with EK Dual D5 Top | T-Virus Res |



Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thinking About Watercooling - Where To Buy? ChuckleBrother Water Cooling 17 March 24, 2008 09:30 PM
Watercooling the Antec 900 JD Water Cooling 44 December 10, 2007 08:13 AM
Help With Watercooling! Gasp! llama_egg Water Cooling 27 December 8, 2007 09:06 AM
Gigabyte watercooling kit Vinnie Water Cooling 1 November 27, 2007 07:18 PM
Internal watercooling kit kING4000 Water Cooling 18 October 15, 2007 11:05 AM