Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2007, 12:47 PM
cdn_Madrach's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Miramichi, New Brunswick
Posts: 631
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Babrbarossa View Post
I think you could fit the pump and res in the empty drive bay fairly easily. Have you considered the top of the case for rad mount- some people do rear mounts by letting the top of the rad extend above the top of the case a little so that it doesn't block essentials (cdnmadrach)
My rad blocked the back of my case a little but when I added a second set of spacers on the rad box there was plenty of room:) (finally got that one sorted out Babrbarossa)

PS: I was worried about how sturdy the radbox would be and it actually is very sturdy.
__________________
Intel e8400
Asus P5q pro
Mushkin Redline 4gb
Silverstone Strider 1kw modular
4870x2
Ocz Vendetta 2
Top deck Tech Station
Samsung dvd
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2007, 12:57 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 305
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
There are always solutions when water-cooling. Changing the case is one. If you wish to keep your 900, then you could mount the rad backside, just like I did for a customer on his P180.



Plenty of space for the cables, since Swiftech provides a radbox between the case and the fan. Also to answer your question, the pump MUST be lower than the reservoir.

John

is that a piece together or is that a kit that you purchased?? Lookes like the one I mentioned above...no? thankyou for posting the photo, it always helps to see the stuff for real!!


as for the Stacker case, this is at another fourm and this is what he did....but I can't see me buying another case now..... mommas gonna flip when or if this stuff shows up at the door!! LOL....
Attached Images
 
__________________
i2600k sandy bridge @ 3.4ghz/ 2x 8800 GTX KO ACS3 PCI-E 630MHZ 768MB 2.0GHZ SLI'd / Raptor 74GB / Antec 1200 Hundred Gaming Case / G.Skill Ripjaws ddr3 1600 cl 8-8-8-24 - 8gigs / evga z68 SLI MOBO / Samsung DVD+RW / Corsair ax850 PSU / 24" Samsung CinkMaster

Cooling:
Swiftech Dual rad
Swiftech Single rad
Swiftech Micro Res
Swiftech Apogee GT Cpu block
Feser One Red Fluid
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2007, 05:28 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,628

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frosty View Post
is that a piece together or is that a kit that you purchased?? Lookes like the one I mentioned above...no? thankyou for posting the photo, it always helps to see the stuff for real!!
Actually, the rad, fan (x2) and the Radbox all come from the Swiftech water-cooling kit. Nice little add-on.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2007, 02:51 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 305
Default

when you guys refer to a second loop for the GPU's... u mean a hole separate pump and such and rad, or just a split in the line so theres 1 in, then splits and coolant goes to the cpu and GPU separatly, then the line meets up again and enters the rad as 1...


IS THIS A 2 LOOP SYSTEM?? pardon teh rough draft, but I think you will get the picture....
Attached Images
 
__________________
i2600k sandy bridge @ 3.4ghz/ 2x 8800 GTX KO ACS3 PCI-E 630MHZ 768MB 2.0GHZ SLI'd / Raptor 74GB / Antec 1200 Hundred Gaming Case / G.Skill Ripjaws ddr3 1600 cl 8-8-8-24 - 8gigs / evga z68 SLI MOBO / Samsung DVD+RW / Corsair ax850 PSU / 24" Samsung CinkMaster

Cooling:
Swiftech Dual rad
Swiftech Single rad
Swiftech Micro Res
Swiftech Apogee GT Cpu block
Feser One Red Fluid
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2007, 03:36 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

I think what they mean by a loop is having one Rad cool the CPU, and another RAD for cooling the Videocard/Chipset

So like this - RES - Pump - Chipset - VGA - RAD - CPU- RAD - RES.
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2007, 04:21 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, what captain vortex said would do it- some purists might say you need two completely separate loops- each with its own pump to maitain high flow rates, but I'm not sure how necessary it is.

I like the stacker pic- I have one coming in a week and I'm going to set it up with a watercooled quad core- I'm wondering how they get at the back panel with that setup though...
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2007, 04:29 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

I hope you guys will like my Apex Ultra+ job in my TJ09. I'll get pics up tonight! I think it looks stellar! (I hope temps are good)
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2007, 04:53 PM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

That stacker looks sweet. That rad looks at home on the back of that case.
__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2007, 06:58 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,487

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frosty View Post
when you guys refer to a second loop for the GPU's... u mean a hole separate pump and such and rad, or just a split in the line so theres 1 in, then splits and coolant goes to the cpu and GPU separatly, then the line meets up again and enters the rad as 1...


IS THIS A 2 LOOP SYSTEM?? pardon teh rough draft, but I think you will get the picture....
I'm not sure how many folks run a split loop like the one in your pic.

I'd be afraid to as I'm assuming that the water would take the path of least resistance, so unless the components in each branch have the same resistance to flow I'd think that one side of the split would get the great majority of cooling water flow.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2007, 07:32 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,246

My System Specs

Default

Thats one fine stacker!
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thinking About Watercooling - Where To Buy? ChuckleBrother Water Cooling 17 March 24, 2008 09:30 PM
Watercooling the Antec 900 JD Water Cooling 44 December 10, 2007 08:13 AM
Help With Watercooling! Gasp! llama_egg Water Cooling 27 December 8, 2007 09:06 AM
Gigabyte watercooling kit Vinnie Water Cooling 1 November 27, 2007 07:18 PM
Internal watercooling kit kING4000 Water Cooling 18 October 15, 2007 11:05 AM