Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2010, 05:51 PM
Dazmode's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,700
Default

Yes, but I don't think it has 3 or 4 inlets....
__________________
Venom Build: Caselabs SMH10, 3930k, 2x GTX680, MSI BigBangII, 8x Dominators, 2 x D5 , Quad Rad, Adaptec 7805, 4x WD Red, 2x Intel 510, Aquaero 5, 11x GT
Silent Sniper Build: Final Video, XSPC H1 Cube case, Supreme HF, 2xGTX470, GA G1 Sniper, Dominators, 2x Triple rad, Triebwerk Fans, 2x D5, Custom Sleeving
Orange Build: Final Video
HTPC Build: Final Video
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2010, 06:01 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 30
Default

I'm lost. What does it need more inlets for? it has the res and fill cap all built in, which is all I thought it would need. I can add a standalone res in between that rad and the pump, should fit no problem. (by the 5.25" bays) I just thought I could use the one that's built in.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2010, 06:08 PM
bottle's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Richmond B.C
Posts: 110

My System Specs

Default

How do you plan to fill the built in res once it's mounted? I don't think it's designed to fill in any other position other than upright.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2010, 06:25 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 30
Default

Hmm, that's true. I would think I could position it upright and not mount it before I fill it, and/or angle the computer to accommodate for me filling it... I've never done a WC setup so I don't know how feasible that is.
Regardless, say I put a res in between the rad up top and the pump and use that instead. (in between the long green line to the right of the fluorescent pink motherboard ) does that look correct?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2010, 10:05 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 30
Default

update. I have everything in the picture, plus a res mounted in the drive bay area between the upper rad and the pump. Just gotta run the tubing when I have enough spare time.
The only hitch I can see is with the video cards. On that board they mount so close together that I can only have it with the top cards barbs facing up and the bottom cards barbs facing down, not enough room in between to have barbs pointing toward the cards. (not even one way... if that makes sense).
I was going to either try to run the tubes with the barbs up and down respectively (although that might get a bit too bendy) or get a couple 90 degree barbs. I saw that there are some special barbs that connects 2 cards directly, but I cant find any.
suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2010, 04:01 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 30
Default

id like to pick up the 90 degree barbs tomorrow if i do in fact need them, any input???
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2010, 06:47 PM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,589
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by meistah View Post
update. I have everything in the picture, plus a res mounted in the drive bay area between the upper rad and the pump. Just gotta run the tubing when I have enough spare time.
The only hitch I can see is with the video cards. On that board they mount so close together that I can only have it with the top cards barbs facing up and the bottom cards barbs facing down, not enough room in between to have barbs pointing toward the cards. (not even one way... if that makes sense).
I was going to either try to run the tubes with the barbs up and down respectively (although that might get a bit too bendy) or get a couple 90 degree barbs. I saw that there are some special barbs that connects 2 cards directly, but I cant find any.
suggestions?
I personally wouldn't get either, as I am not a fan of both companies but you could get something like this:
http://ncix.com/products/index.php?s...e=Danger%20Den
or
http://ncix.com/products/index.php?s...cture=Koolance (Think that is to big for what you need though)
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2010, 12:31 AM
Fudd Rucker's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SSM Ont
Posts: 956

My System Specs

Default

Id look into different radiators for your setup. These swiftech ones seem to be crap at best from my personal experiance. My temps from my brutally expensive watercooling loop right now are no better than that of a high end air cooler. So im going to build my watercooler externally very very soon as I have found internal mounting to not do much better than an air cooler. (actually im just waiting to get paid from work to pick up a better radiator). Aside from my rad I dont believe I have any "cheap" watercooling parts so my temps should be considerably better then what they are.
__________________
I couldnt think of something snarky or interesting to put here this time around.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2010, 05:03 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 30
Default

I think ill give that danger den connector kit a shot, thanks AmuseMe
If I can't get it to work well internally I'm scrapping the project, I don't want to be mounting things externally. (although I might be able to squeeze the rad in up top with a bit of modding.)
No big loss, it was only a few hundred for all the parts and ill get a bit of money back reselling. I'm not looking for amazing overclocking results, I just thought it would be an interesting project.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2010, 09:45 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 30
Default

**update**

have had the computer sitting in the corner finished for about a month now... decided to put the coolant in today... trying to fill the tubes and I think the pump is dead. I jumped the power supply and all i have connected is the pump, but it doesnt seem like its moving the liquid (see attached pic). unless I'm dyslexic and the arrows are pointing the opposite way of what I see I have the tubing hooked up correctly...

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setup, again? martin_metal_88 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 4 November 9, 2009 02:36 PM
[WTT] My LGA775 DDR3 setup for your AM2+/AM3 setup Realityshift Buy/Sell & Trade 2 April 12, 2009 06:17 PM
WC setup Dark Water Cooling 24 January 14, 2008 06:02 PM
Help with WC setup Cptn Vortex Water Cooling 6 October 3, 2007 01:18 PM
how does this setup look? moditir Water Cooling 24 August 26, 2007 10:41 AM